KL Rahul strikes unbeaten ton, helps India make perfect start in South Africa

India got off to a solid start against South Africa on the opening day of the boxing day test match in centurion. India captain Virat Kohli won the toss and elected to bat first on the greenish pitch and in the overcast conditions. The Indian batters did not disappoint the decision and went on  to score 273 runs with the loss of three wickets at stumps day one of the first test.

India vs South Africa, 1st Test Live Streaming : Preview, Predicted XI, Match Predictions, Pitch Report and Weather Forecast

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul put on a 117-run stand for first wicket. Mayank Agarwal scored 60 runs before getting out Leg before wicket to Lungi Ngidi. Cheteshwar Pujara scored a golden duck while skipper, Virat Kohli looked solid at the start but got out on 35. KL Rahul is unbeaten on 122. He scored his sixth overseas century and became the only second opener after Wasim Jaffer to score a test century in South Africa. Ajinkya Rahane also looked good and is unbeaten on 40. India will look to consolidate their position on day 2 with 7 wickets in hand.

Daily Cricket News – 18 December : Gautam Gambhir joins Lucknow IPL Franchise, KL Rahul appointed as India’s Test Vice Captain, Australia lead by 282 runs on day 3, and more

Breif score at Stumps day 1 – India : 272/3 (KL Rahul 122*, Mayank Agarwal 60, Ajinkya Rahane 40*,Lungi Ngidi 3/45) against South Africa 

Himachal Pradesh clinch their maiden Vijay Hazare Trophy title, beat five-times champion Tamil Nadu

The winning Himachal Pradesh team celebrate with the trophy • Dec 26, 2021 © HPCA
The winning Himachal Pradesh team celebrate with the trophy; Shubham Arora, Rishi Dhawan power Himachal Pradesh to maiden Vijay Hazare title.

On Sunday, Vijay Hazare trophy got a new winner in Himachal Pradesh. Himachal Pradesh crushed the experienced Tamil Nadu by 11 runs (VJD method) to clinch their maiden title, after Himachal Pradesh Captain Rishi Dhawan decided to field first. Tamil Nadu were chasing their sixth Vijay Hazare title but lost to Himachal Pradesh.

Himachal Pradesh required 16 off 15 balls when the play to stopped due to bad light. After that, they were declared as winners by the VJD method which is domestic equivalent of Duckworth-Lewis method. Opener, Shubman Arora was adjusted the man of the match for his brilliant unbeaten 136 off 131 balls.

Daily Cricket News – 21 December : Vijay Hazare Trophy – Himachal Pradesh, and Tamil Nadu into the Semi Finals, Anrich Nortje ruled out of the test series against India

Earlier in the day, Dinesh Karthik scored a 103-balls 116 to take Tamil Nadu’s score at 314/10 in 49.4 overs. He stitched a 202-run partnership with Baba Indrajit. Baba Indrajit played a crucial knock of 80(71), alongside Shahrukh Khan who played an explosive knock of 42 for Tamil Nadu in the finals of the Vijay Hazare trophy 2021.

Brief Score – Himachal Pradesh : 299 for 4 (Arora 136*, Amit 74, Dhawan 42*, Aparajith 1-45, Washington 1-47) beat Tamil Nadu : 314 (Karthik 116, Indrajith 80, Shahrukh 42, Jaswal 4-59, Dhawan 3-62) by 11 runs (VJD method)

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22 Stats, Records – Most Runs, Centuries, Sixes, Wickets and more stats – Who is the highest run-scorer in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22?

Australia in command after bowling out England for 185

England all out for 185 in the first innings on day one against Australia in the 3rd Ashes test after another poor display of batting. Australia captain Pat Cummins won the toss and elected to bowl first in the morning at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube
Down and out: Jonny Bairstow fell to Mitchell Starc for the ninth time in Tests, Australia vs England, 3rd Test, 1st day, MCG, December 26, 2021
Jonny Bairstow fell to Mitchell Starc for the ninth time in Tests, Australia vs England, 3rd Test, 1st day, MCG.

Australia bowled out England for just 185 and are 61/1 at stumps on day one. Australia’s only loss was in form of David Warner just before the end of day’s play. David Warner scored 38 runs off 42 deliveries. England captain Joe Root scored yet another fifty. Pat Cummins and Nathan Lyon picked three wicket each for Australia. Mitchell Starc took 2 while the debutant Scott Boland and Cameron Green picked a wicket each.

Brief Score at Stumps day 1 – England 185 (Root 50; Cummins 3-36, Lyon 3-36) trail Australia 61/1 (David Warner 38, Marcus Harris 20*) by 124 runs

Read – The Test : A New Era for Australia’s Team Review

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.