You all must have definitely heard about the new hundred ball tournament which is all set to take place this year. While a few if you must be very excited for this tournament to begin, the rest don’t even know what it is. Well one can’t really blame them as a hundred ball tournament means that you would have at least one over where six balls haven’t been bowled, isn’t it? Well this format has it’s own rules and regulations. The format is one of a kind. So what are the rules? What is its format? What exactly is this hundred ball tournament? Today we shall be discussing about what is this hundred format of cricket.

Basic Details:

THE HUNDRED has its craze level on a different mode


It is a proper and professional franchise 100-ball tournament which is organized by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB). It involves eight men’s and women’s teams located in major cities across England and Wales. The format was invented to attract younger and more diverse crowds to watch cricket, with the expectation that the shorter format will mean each match lasts around two-and-a-half hours. However, it was postponed several times because of the COVID-19 pandemic and seems all set to take place in 2021.

Are you yet to Subscribe us on YouTube? Tap Here!


A 100-Ball format, are we going to see Cricket in Olympics soon?


The ECB had confirmed that they were organizing this 100 ball league way back in 2018. It would consist of 15 six-ball overs and a final 10-ball over. Other mooted changes included the removing of the LBW law. This plan drew significant criticism. the ECB later revised the playing conditions in which there would be ten overs consisting of ten balls with bowlers delivering five or ten consecutive balls. The format is as follows:


Last Year, The Hundred ball tournament was postponed due to COVID-19 pandemic

1) 100 balls per innings

2) A change of ends after 10 balls

3) Bowlers deliver either five or 10 consecutive balls

4) Each bowler can deliver a maximum of 20 balls per game

5) Each bowling side gets a strategic time-out of up to two and a half minutes

6) A 25-ball powerplay start for each team

7) Two fielders are allowed outside the initial 30-yard circle during the powerplay

8) Teams will be able to call time-outs, as has been the case in the IPL since 2009

9) A simplified scoreboard is also proposed


Teams and their Logos

Also Read : 5 Instances Where Cricket Grounds Looked Like A Battlefield

There are 8 teams who would be playing this tournaments. They are Manchester Origins, Northern Superchargers, Birmingham Phoenix, Trent Rockets, Welsh Fire, London Spirit, Oval Invincibles and Southern Brave. The teams consist of world class cricketers as well as world renown coaches. Below is an image of players playing in each team.

Current Squad Set of Each Team

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.