India beat New Zealand by 5 wickets

The T20I World Cup Runner-ups, New Zealand, encountered a 5-wicket loss to the hosts India. Rohit Sharma’s 48 and Suryakumar Yadav’s 40-ball 62 helped India go up by 1-0 vs New Zealand.

The New Zealand side was asked to bat first, after Rohit won the toss and elected to field. Bhuvneshwar Kumar bowled out Daryll Mitchell of an in-swinger, before Guptill and Chapman added 109 for the second wicket. New Zealand managed to post 164-6 in 20 overs, which never seemed enough for their bowlers to defend.

Rohit Sharma’s two 50-run partnerships first with KL Rahul and then with Suryakumar Yadav gave the start which India needed in Jaipur. India struggled after Suryakumar Yadav was bowled on 62 by Trent Boult, but Rishabh Pant managed to held one end. Both Iyers – Shreyas and Venkatesh couldn’t finish the game, and it was for Axar Patel to watch the boundary finish by Pant.

Brief scores: New Zealand 164/6 in 20 overs (Martin Guptill 70; Ravichandran Ashwin 2-23) lost to India 166/5 in 19.4 overs (Suryakumar Yadav 62; Trent Boult 2-31) by 5 wickets. Player of the Match: Suryakumar Yadav.

Sourav Ganguly replaces Kumble as Chairman of ICC Cricket Committee

The former India captain and the President of BCCI, Sourav Ganguly appointed as the chairman of ICC Cricket Committee. Ganguly will replace his former teammate at India Anil Kumble. Kumble served for 9 years as the chairman, the most one can at the committee.

“I am delighted to welcome Sourav to the position of Chair of the ICC Men’s Cricket Committee,” ICC Chair Greg Barclay said in a statement.

“His experience as one of the world’s best players and latterly as an administrator will help us shape our cricketing decisions moving forward. I would also like to thank Anil for his outstanding leadership over the last nine years which has included improving the international game through more regular and consistent application of DRS and a robust process for addressing suspect bowling actions.”, added Barclay.

Jamieson to miss India T20Is to focus on Test Series

New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson decided to opt-out of the three match T20I series against India, to focus on the upcoming test series. Earlier Kane Williamson also decided to stay and practice his game with other red ball specialists in Kolkata. Lockie Ferguson has been deemed fit to join the squad in place of Jamieson.

Watch the India Vs New Zealand T20I Series Preview on YouTube

New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson to skip T20 series in India and prepare for Tests
New Zealand pacer Kyle Jamieson to skip T20 series in India and prepare for Tests.

Both Jamieson and Williamson will join the New Zealand team for training ahead of the first test match in Kanpur. The First test between India and New Zealand is set to begin from November 25.

New Zealand’s T20I squad : Tim Southee (C), Todd Astle, Trent Boult, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Adam Milne, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Tim Seifert (WK), and Ish Sodhi.

Read more : India vs New Zealand T20I Series Preview

Usman Khawaja recalled for Tests, Australia announces Squad for Ashes

Usman Khawaja has been recalled for the Ashes after his thundering domestic performance in the Sheffield Shield. Khawaja with 404 runs in just 6 innings has managed to seal his birth, whereas there was no place for Will Pucovski.

During the last Ashes in England, Khawaja was not seen in good form and was dropped from the starting eleven after three game. The highest score he could manage of the first three matches for Australia was only a 40 in Birmingham.

Australia’s Test Squad : Tim Paine (captain), Pat Cummins (vice-captain), Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Michael Neser, Jhye Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner

Smriti Mandhana’s Ton in vain as Harmanpreet Kaur power Melbourne Renegade to a 6-run victory

Smriti Mandhana’s 64-ball 114 for Sydney Thunders which included 14 fours and 3 sixes. The quickfire century goes in vain as Melbourne Renegades Woman stand out victorious by just 4 runs. Mandhana’s teammate at Indian Cricket Team Harmanpreet Kaur, helped Renegades snatch victory.

The heroics of Harmanpreet Kaur not only included her 55-ball 81 but also her thrilling last over while Mandhana was on the crease. Harmanpreet Kaur defended 13 runs in the over, giving away just 8 runs, for renegades who are at the top of points table.

Brief Score : Melbourne Renegades 175/4 in 20 overs (Kaur 81*; Bates 2-21) beat Sydney Thunder 171/2 in 20 overs (Mandhana 114*; Kaur 1-27) by 4 runs. Player of the Match: Smriti Mandhana.

Daily Cricket News – 16 November : Pakistan to host 2025 Champions Trophy, New Zealand T20I Squad, and more

By Abhishek Pandey

Non-Aspiring future engineer having many aspirations in life. A lover of cricket and football, an admirer of the GOATs in both games. Solving the jigsaw puzzles of life in my own way to find the treasure of peace. There is only one quote that keeps me going- 'There is no way for being happy, being happy is the only way.'