BPL 2022 Players' draft

The BPL 2022 players’ draft took place on Monday, December 27 at the Radisson Blu Water Garden in Dhaka. After last year’s edition was scrapped due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) got things together and is set to host the tournament from January 21 to February 18.

The Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Dhaka, the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram and the Sylhet International Cricket Stadium are the three venues that will host the matches in the tournament. 36 games will be played in the league stage followed by the playoffs and the final.

Daily Cricket News – 27 December : KL Rahul to lead India in Rohit’s Absence for South Africa ODIs, BPL 2022 Players’ Draft, Rain washes Day 2 at Centurion, and more

Six teams- Dhaka, Chattogram Challengers, Fortune Barishal, Sylhet Sunrisers, Khulna Tigers and Cumilla Victorians – will take part in the championship. Due to the BCB giving only one-year contracts, a number of teams had pulled out from the upcoming edition of the league.

Here are all the squads for the upcoming after BPL 2022 Players’ draft

Dhaka : BPL 2022 Players’ draft

The Dhaka franchise had an overnight change in ownership after the initial bidders – Rupa Fabrics Limited and Marn Steel Limited – were ineligible as they failed to pay the BDT five crore (approx $583,000) pre-tournament fees within the stipulated time. According to reports, the BCB kept ownership of the Dhaka team, with chief selector Habibul Bashar seen making bids for players during the draft.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube
Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal and Mashrafe Mortaza will play for the same BPL franchise for the first time after Dhaka signed the trio for the upcoming season. Tamim and Mashrafe were two of Dhaka's first three picks while Mahmudullah was the team's only direct signing, after BPL 2022 Players' draft
Tamim Iqbal.

Mahmudullah, Tamim Iqbal and Mashrafe Mortaza will play for the same BPL franchise for the first time after Dhaka signed the trio for the upcoming season. Tamim and Mashrafe were two of Dhaka’s first three picks while Mahmudullah was the team’s only direct signing.

Direct Signing – Mahmudullah Riyad, Isuru Udana, Najibullah Zadran, Qais Ahmad

Draft Picks – Tamim Iqbal, Rubel Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza, Shuvagata Hom, Mohammad Shahzad, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Mohammad Naim, Arafat Sunny, Imranuzzaman, Shafiul Islam, Jahurul Islam, Shamsur Rahman, Ebadot Hossain

Chattogram Challengers : BPL 2022 Players’ draft

Direct Signing – Nasum Ahmed, Benny Howell, Kennar Lewis, Will Jacks

Draft Picks – Shoriful Islam, Afif Hossain, Shamim Hossain, Mukidul Islam Mugdho, Chadwick Walton, Rayad Emrit, Rezaur Raja, Sabbir Rahman, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Akbar Ali, Naeem Islam

Daily Cricket News – 10 December : Full PSL 2022 Retention List – Babar, Rashid, Livingstone headline retained; Fakhar Zaman released

Fortune Barishal : BPL 2022 Players’ draft

Direct Signing – Shakib Al Hasan, Mujeeb Ur Rehman, Dhanush Gunathilaka, Chris Gayle

Draft Picks – Nurul Hasan Sohan, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Mehedi Hasan Rana, Fazle Mahmud, Obed McCoy, Alzarri Joseph, Towhid Hridoy, Ziaur Rahman, Shafiqul Islam, Shykat Ali, Niroshan Dickwella, Nayeem Hasan, Taijul Islam, Salman Hossain, Irfan Sukkur

Khulna Tigers : BPL 2022 Players’ draft

Khulna Tigers, who played in the 2019-20 BPL final, took Mushfiqur Rahim as one of their four direct signings, apart from picking Sikandar Raza and Soumya Sarkar in the draft.

Direct Signing – Mushfiqur Rahim, Thisara Perera, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Naveen-ul-Haq

Draft Picks – Mahedi Hasan, Soumya Sarkar, Kamrul Islam Rabbi, Yasir Ali, Seekkuge Prasanna, Sikandar Raza, Farhad Reza, Rony Talukdar, Khaled Ahmed, Jaker Ali, Nabil Samad

CLICK HERE TO VIEW FULL IPL RETENTION LIST – MS Dhoni – Virat Kohli – KL Rahul – Rashid Khan

Sylhet Sunrisers : BPL 2022 Players’ draft

Sylhet Sunrisers have picked up Kesrick Williams and Ravi Bopara among their foreign picks, with Taskin Ahmed, Mizanur Rahman and Sohag Gazi being their local players.

Direct Signing– Taskin Ahmed, Dinesh Chandimal, Colin Ingram, Kesrick Williams

Draft Picks – Mosaddek Hossain, Mohammad Mithun, Al-Amin Hossain, Nazmul Islam Apu, Ravi Bopara, Angelo Perera, Anamul Haque Bijoy, Shohag Gazi, Alok Kapali, Muktar Ali, Shiraz Ahmed, Mizanur Rahman, Nadir Chowdhury, Jubair Hossain Likhon, Shafiul Hayat Ridoy, Sunzamul Islam

Cumilla Victorians : BPL 2022 Players’ draft

Cumilla Victorians, back in the tournament after becoming champions in 2018-19, have gone for Mustafizur Rahman, Faf du Plessis, Sunil Narine and Moeen Ali as their direct signings, apart from picking Liton Das and Oshane Thomas, among others.

Direct Signing– Mustafizur Rahman, Faf du Plessis, Moeen Ali, Sunil Narine

Draft Picks – Liton Das, Shohidul Islam, Imrul Kayes, Tanvir Islam, Kusal Mendis, Oshane Thomas, Ariful Haque, Nahidul Islam, Mahmudul Hasan Joy, Sumon Khan, Mominul Haque, Mahidul Islam Ankon, Parvez Hossain Emon, Abu Hider Rony, Mehedi Hasan Rana

Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22 Stats, Records – Most Runs, Centuries, Sixes, Wickets and more stats – Who is the highest run-scorer in Vijay Hazare Trophy 2021-22?
Full Scorecard of Riders vs Dynamites Final 2017/18 - Score Report |  ESPNcricinfo.com BPL 2022 Players' draft
Chris Gayle.

Among the overseas T20 stars, veteran Chris Gayle went to Fortune Barishal, who had already signed Shakib Al Hasan, Mujeeb Ur Rahman and Danushka Gunathilaka. They have also taken West Indies’ fast bowling pair of Obed McCoy and Alzarri Joseph, as well as Sri Lanka wicketkeeper Niroshan Dickwella to round off their foreign signings.