Only four months are left for the start of the ODI World Cup, but till now the schedule of this tournament has not been released. The schedule for the 2015 and 2019 World Cups was released almost a year before the start of the tournament. However, this time the announcement of the schedule of the world is delayed.

According to media reports, the BCCI has decided the schedule of the World Cup and sent it to the ICC. The ICC has sent this schedule to all the countries involved in the tournament. The schedule will be formally released after getting the consent of the cricket boards of all the countries.

The World Cup will be held in India from October 5 to November 19. Defending champions England could go up against New Zealand in the opening match. Both the teams last played the final at Lord’s ground in 2019.

The match will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, at the same time, the great match between India and Pakistan can be held in this ground on 15 October. The final of the tournament is also likely to be held in Ahmedabad.

ALSO READ- ASIA CUP 2023: Pak to host 4 matches on it’s land

Talking about the other big matches of the tournament, Australia and New Zealand will meet on October 29 in Dharamshala. At the same time, the match between Australia and England will be held in Ahmedabad on November 4. The New Zealand vs South Africa match will take place in Pune on November 1.

India’s tentative schedule –

  • India v Australia, 8 October, Chennai 
  • India v Afghanistan, 11 October, Delhi 
  • India v Pakistan, 15 October, Ahmedabad 
  • India v Bangladesh, 19 October, Pune
  • India v New Zealand, 22 October, Dharamsala
  • India v England, 29 October, Lucknow 
  • India v Qualifier, 2 October, Mumbai 
  • India v South Africa, 5 October Kolkata 
  • India v Qualifier, 11 October, Bengaluru

Mumbai’s Wankhede is likely to get the semi-finals. All the teams will play nine league matches each. With this, most grounds will get at least one Indian match. In total, there will be 48 matches between 10 teams in the World Cup. Apart from hosts India, England, Australia, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Pakistan, Bangladesh and South Africa have secured their places.

A qualifying tournament will be held in June-July in Zimbabwe for the last two spots. In this, apart from two former champions West Indies and Sri Lanka, Netherlands, Ireland, Nepal, Oman, Scotland, United Arab Emirates and hosts Zimbabwe will participate.

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45