In a surprising instant news, the All India Selection Committee has revealed the final squad for the highly anticipated ODI World Cup 2023. This announcement came with one significant change from the preliminary squad, which has sparked conversations among cricket enthusiasts and experts alike.

Axar Patel, a talented all-rounder, unfortunately, missed out on a spot in the final 15 due to a quadriceps injury sustained during the Asia Cup Super 4 match against Bangladesh.

The selectors had to make a crucial decision in choosing Axar Patel’s replacement, and they opted for the experienced Ravichandran Ashwin. What makes this selection even more remarkable is that Ashwin had not been a part of the ODI set-up for approximately 20 months before his unexpected return.

Ashwin’s reentry into India’s ODI team occurred during the recent ODI series against Australia. Although he claimed just one wicket in the first ODI, it was the Indore clash that truly showcased his class. In that match, Ashwin’s extraordinary performance saw him scalping three wickets, turning the tide of the game in India’s favor. This remarkable comeback undoubtedly played a pivotal role in his selection for the ODI World Cup 2023 squad.

Axar Patel’s untimely injury is indeed a bitter pill to swallow, especially considering that it would have been his first ODI World Cup appearance. His absence leaves a void in the team, but it also opens up a new opportunity for Ravichandran Ashwin to prove his worth on the international stage once more.

What makes Ashwin’s inclusion even more special is that he now joins Virat Kohli as the second player from the 2011 ODI World Cup-winning side to be a part of this year’s event. This adds a touch of nostalgia and experience to the squad, which could prove invaluable as India strives to reclaim the coveted ODI World Cup trophy.

India Squad For World Cup:

Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya (vc), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin , Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45