The prestigious Times of India Sports Awards (TOISA) 2024 unfolded with grandeur, acknowledging the remarkable achievements of athletes across diverse disciplines. Our Editor in Chief Mr. Devansh Awasthi was invited for the mega event. Here’s a glimpse into the standout performers who were honored during this spectacular event:

1. Mentor of the Year: Mahesh Bhupati

Renowned tennis icon Mahesh Bhupati was rightfully recognized as the Mentor of the Year, a testament to his significant contributions in shaping the future of Indian sports.

2. Dynamic Duo: Satwik & Chirag

Badminton enthusiasts rejoiced as the dynamic pairing of Chirag Shetty and Satwiksairaj Rankireddy claimed the title of Badminton Players of the Year in the Doubles category.

3. Star Shuttler Saina Nehwal

The indomitable Saina Nehwal, a stalwart in Indian badminton, received due acknowledgment at TOISA for her stellar contributions to the sport.

4. Record-Breaker Virat Kohli

Cricket maestro Virat Kohli’s exceptional achievements on the field were honored with the Record-Breaker award, highlighting his unparalleled prowess.

5. Para TT Player of the Year: Bhavinaben Patel

Bhavinaben Patel’s prowess in Para Table Tennis earned her the deserved recognition as the Para TT Player of the Year nominee.

6. Badminton Player of the Year (Singles): HS Prannoy

HS Prannoy’s singles brilliance in badminton earned him the title of Badminton Player of the Year.

7. Archer of the Year: Ojas Pravin Deotale & Jyothi Surekha Vennam

Ojas Pravin Deotale and Jyothi Surekha Vennam shone as Archer of the Year in the male and female categories, respectively.

8. TOISA Changemaker of the Year: Uttar Pradesh

The state of Uttar Pradesh received the TOISA Changemaker of the Year award, recognizing its transformative impact on Indian sports.

9. Special Recognition in Archery: Abhishek Verma

Archery maven Abhishek Verma was acknowledged with a special recognition award, lauding his exceptional contributions to the sport.

10. Athlete of the Year (Track & Field): Parul Chaudhary

Parul Chaudhary’s outstanding performances in Track & Field earned her the coveted Athlete of the Year award.

11. Breakthrough Performer: Mohammed Shami

Indian pacer Mohammed Shami was celebrated as the Breakthrough Performer of the Year, acknowledging his impactful contributions to cricket.

12. Athlete of the Year (Track & Field) Male: Neeraj Chopra

Neeraj Chopra, the reigning javelin throw champion, secured the title of Athlete of the Year in the male category.

13. Chess Player of the Year: R Praggnanandhaa

R Praggnanandhaa’s prowess on the chessboard earned him the title of TOISA Chess Player of the Year.

14. Para Chess Player of the Year: Darpan Inani

Para chess enthusiast Darpan Inani was recognized as the Para Chess Player of the Year.

15. Cricketer of the Year: Mohammed Shami

In a double honor, Mohammed Shami also claimed the title of Cricketer of the Year for his outstanding contributions to Indian cricket.

16. Para Athlete of the Year (Track & Field) Female: Pooja Yadav

Pooja Yadav’s remarkable achievements in Para Track & Field earned her the well-deserved title of Para Athlete of the Year.

17. Equestrian Team Dressage: Anush Agarwalla, Hriday Chheda, Divyakriti Singh, Sudipti Hajela

The Equestrian Team Dressage, comprising Anush Agarwalla, Hriday Chheda, Divyakriti Singh, and Sudipti Hajela, was honored with the TOISA award for Equestrian excellence.

18. Hockey Player of the Year (Female): Salima Tete

Salima Tete’s outstanding contributions to Indian hockey secured her the title of Hockey Player of the Year in the female category.

The Times of India Sports Awards 2024 proved to be a fitting platform to acknowledge and celebrate the brilliance of Indian athletes, encouraging them to strive for even greater heights in the world of sports.

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45