The Second Edition of the ICC World Test Championship 2021- 2023 is going to start with the upcoming series India versus England. This time the tournament will have a modified point system, ICC will level out the points of all test matches played while it sticks with the much debated percentage criteria.

According to some reports, each test match has been allotted the same number of points in this World Test Championship cycle , unlike the first edition of the tournament where each series was having the same number of points. The 2nd edition of the World Test Championship, for winning a match a team will get 12 points ,for a draw a team will get 4 and in case of a tie both teams will be awarded with 6 points each. No points will be awarded in case of loss. So that is quite clear that the percentage of winning or not losing holds the edge instead of number of which by each Team.

ICC have tried to be more efficient this time around

“The aim was to try and simplify the points system and to allow teams to be meaningfully compared on the table at any point, though they may have played differing numbers of matches and series.”\

Tap Here to Subscribe our YouTube Channel

ICC’s chief executive officer Geoff Allardice said in an interview.

All teams playing in the World Test Championship will be ranked in the points table based on the percentage points they won from the matches during this period. The rule used in the second cycle is very similar to the one used in World Test Championship by ICC midway. Many cricketing experts and present cricketers should disapproval for this rule.

In the inaugural edition of the World Test Championship , it was decided that if a team fails to to maintain its over rate, the team will be penalized with two points but in this edition a team will lose only one point if their overrate falls behind. It is a point worth to be noted that in the last edition, Australia just missed the bus for the Finals by mere over-rate points deduction and New Zealand booked their birth just to eventually become Champions of the inaugural ICC World Test Championship.

India and England will play most number of matches in the 2nd edition

The second cycle starts from India-England Test Series

In this Second Edition of the World Test Championship, we will only see two five match series – India vs England 2021 and the Ashes.  In 2022, Australia will tour India for the Border-Gavaskar trophy which will include 4 Test matches in India. Apart from this it is also estimated that the finals of ICC World Test Championship 2021-2023 Cycle might be held in UAE, as the weather is perfect for such crucial cricketing events. Looking at the schedule, India and Pakistan hold the edge in this cycle.

This edition of the  World Test Championship include 13 two-match series and 7-three match series. Only top nine test sides will play in this World Test Championship.  Each team will play 6 series each- 3 home series and 3 away series.

ICC World Test Championship 2021-2023 : In Numbers

England will play most number of matches in the second edition of the World Test Championship-2021-2023 , followed by India (19), Australia (18) and South Africa (15). The new World Test Champion, New Zealand will only play 13 test matches. West Indies and Sri Lanka will play same number of matches as New Zealand. Pakistan will play 14 test matches. In the inaugural edition also, Englishmen played the most number of game. But hopefully one can expect a better event this time as the vaccination for COVID-19 has already started on a full-flow now.

Also Read : Also Read : ICC have new plans for upcoming ICC World Cup and T20 Championship

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.