Australia tour of England confirmed

Australia tour of England confirmed: Take a look at the complete schedule

ECB has confirmed that Australia will be touring England in September for three ODIs and three T20Is.
Although CA and ECB were in talks of having a series between both the teams in September nothing was
official until ECB confirmed it today. This tour was initially slated to take place in July but was postponed
due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Australia tour of England confirmed

This series is all set to start from the 4th of August, three days after the completion of the 3rd T20I match between England and Pakistan. CA, however, confirmed that assistant coach Andrew McDonald will not travel with the squad to the UK because of his pre-existing commitment with Rajasthan Royals as their head coach. McDonald will resume his duties with the Australian side after the IPL gets over.

As mentioned earlier, Australia’s tour to England shall begin with the T20I series and the first T20I match
shall be played on 4 September, the second on 6 September and the third and final T20I will be played
on 8 September. The three T20I matches will be played in Southampton followed by the ODI series
which will be played in Manchester. Australia tour of England confirmed and the first ODI will be played on 11 September, the second on 13September and the third and final ODI will be played on 16 September.

Australia tour of England confirmed

We owe a significant debt of gratitude to the players, staff and administrators of Cricket Australia for their efforts in getting this tour underway. Their co-operation to ensure these matches are staged is crucial to cricket in this country. It will also provide much-needed financial aid at all levels of cricket in England and Wales as we work through the challenges in front of us," said ECB CEO, Tom Harrison. He also added that the Australia tour of England confirmed tour will be a perfect way to end the men’s international season this summer.

Australia’s squad is expected to reach the UK on August 24. They will touch down in Derbyshire before
heading to the venue of the T20I series – Southampton – on August 27. They will play an intra-squad 50-
over practice game and three such T20 practice matches. Australia had initially selected a 26 man
preliminary squad, from which 21 have now been selected. The most noticeable exclusion has been
D’Arcy Short as he was relatively decent in the SA tour earlier this year. Travis Head, Usman Khawaja,
Ben McDermott, Michael Nesser is the others who have been left out.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins (VC), Josh
Hazlewood, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Riley Meredith, Josh
Philippe, Daniel Sams, Kane Richardson, Steven Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Andrew Tye,
Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.