The inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League (WPL) is set to begin on March 4 at the DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai with a clash between teams Mumbai and Ahmedabad.

As per a report in Cricbuzz, as of now the officials concerned with the league have decided on the match between the two teams.

The report states that apart from the DY Patil Stadium, matches will be played at several other grounds including the CCI-Brabourne Stadium. The Wankhede Stadium, the primary venue in the city, will host the India-Australia ODI match on March 17, followed by the IPL, which is likely to begin on April 1.

The report states that in the second match of the Women’s Premier League, Team Bengaluru will face Team Delhi in the CCI on March 5.

22 matches will be played in the Women’s Premier League –

The report also states that matches will not be played on five days in the 22-match WPL. The eliminator is at CCI on March 24 and the final will be held at DY Patil Stadium on March 26, Sunday. Adani Group through Adani Sportsline Pvt got the Ahmedabad franchise named Gujarat Giants with the highest bid of Rs 1289 crores. India win Sports Pvt. Ltd. acquired the Mumbai franchise with a bid of Rs 912.99 crore.

Viacom 18 gets media rights –

Royal Challengers Sports Pvt. Ltd., JSW GMR Cricket Pvt. Ltd. and Capri Global Holdings Pvt. Ltd. won the remaining three teams, Bangalore, Delhi and Lucknow with bids of Rs 901 crore, Rs 810 crore and Rs 757 crore respectively.

Viacom18 Media Private Limited won the bid for the media rights of WPL for 2023-2027. Viacom18 acquired the rights with a bid of Rs 951 crore, which equates to Rs 7.09 crore per match.

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45