Mitchell Santner will lead New Zealand for the three-match T20I series against India. New Zealand announced a 15-member T20I squad for the tour of India.

Left-arm uncapped swing bowler Ben Lister has also been included in the team. Along with this, all-rounder Henry Shipley has also been given a place. Those who recently made their ODI debut against Pakistan, both have a chance to make their T20I debut.

Speaking about Lister’s selection, chief selector Gavin Larsen said, “Ben has played some great cricket for Auckland early in his career in red and white ball cricket. Since his debut in late 2017, he has been the Aces’ leading wicket-taker in T20I and first-class cricket. As a left-handed batsman, his ability to swing the ball is particularly exciting.”

Rest given to Tim Southee and Kane Williamson¬† –

It should be noted that Kyle Jamieson, Matt Henry, Adam Milne and Ben Sears could not make their place in the team due to injury. Kane Williamson and Tim Southee have been rested for the T20I matches for the tour of India.

Both will return to New Zealand after the Pakistan series along with head coach Gary Stead and bowling coach Shane Jurgensen. Luke Ronchi will take over as the head coach of the T20I team on the tour of India.

Let us tell you that a series of three T20I matches will be played between India and New Zealand. The first match of the series will be played on January 27, second on January 29 and February 1 in Ranchi, Lucknow and Ahmedabad respectively.

New Zealand T20I team –

Mitchell Santner (c), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45