Afghanistan has unveiled its formidable squad for the upcoming three-match ODI series against Sri Lanka, set to commence on February 9 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. The squad comprises a blend of seasoned players and rising stars, promising an exciting display of talent. Hashmatullah Shahidi will lead the team, with Rahmat Shah serving as vice-captain, ensuring a balanced leadership dynamic.

Rahmanullah Gurbaz and Ikram Alikhil will share wicketkeeping duties, known for their agility behind the stumps. The batting lineup boasts Ibrahim Zadran’s stability, complemented by the flair of Riaz Hassan and Azmatullah Omarzai. Mohammad Nabi and Gulbadin Naib bring experience and energy to the middle-order, adding depth to the team’s batting prowess.

In the spin department, Qais Ahmad will showcase his wrist-spinning skills alongside the talented Noor Ahmad and seasoned Mujeeb Ur Rahman, compensating for the absence of Rashid Khan. The fast-bowling trio of Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveed Zadran, and Farid Ahmad Malik promises to provide firepower on Sri Lankan pitches, combining youth and experience effectively.

However, the team faces a setback with Mohammad Saleem Safi sidelined due to a hamstring injury, ruling him out of the ODIs and the ongoing Test match against Sri Lanka. Naveed Zadran, who made his Test debut in the ongoing match, has earned a spot in the ODI squad, showcasing the selectors’ confidence in his abilities.

Fans can anticipate an action-packed series, with matches scheduled for February 9, 11, and 14 at the scenic Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. As Afghanistan gears up for spirited performances, they aim to leave a lasting impression on Sri Lankan soil, promising an enthralling contest for cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

Afghanistan ODI squad: 

Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Rahmat Shah (vc), Rahmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Ikram Alikhil (wk), Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mohammad Nabi, Gulbadin Naib, Qais Ahmad, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazal Haq Farooqi, Naveed Zadran and Farid Ahmad Malik.


Sharafuddin Ashraf, Shahidullah Kamal, Abdul Rahman Rahmani and Bilal Sami.

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45