In an exciting announcement, Afghanistan has revealed its 15-man squad for the upcoming 50-over World Cup. One of the most notable inclusions is the return of Naveen-ul-Haq, the right-arm seamer, who hasn’t played an ODI since February 2021.

Naveen-ul-Haq had taken a break from ODI cricket last year, but now he’s back to strengthen Afghanistan’s bowling lineup. In his brief ODI career, he has already claimed 14 wickets at an impressive average of 25.42. During his time away from ODIs, Naveen has been actively participating in T20 leagues around the world, honing his skills.

Afghanistan’s pace attack for the World Cup will also feature Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, and Azmatullah Omarzai. Omarzai, who missed the Asia Cup due to a side strain, is now fit and ready to contribute to both batting and bowling.

In addition to their pace options, Afghanistan has picked four spinners in their squad – the formidable trio of Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, and the young Noor Ahmad.

Among the reserves are familiar faces Gulbadin Naib and Sharafuddin Ashraf, who featured in the Asia Cup. Fareed Ahmad will also be part of the reserve list. However, there are some notable omissions from the squad, including Karim Janat and Mohammad Saleem.

Afghanistan’s top-order batting looks strong and well-organized, with Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmat Shah, skipper Hashmatullah Shahidi, and Najibullah Zadran expected to carry the bulk of the scoring responsibilities.

Afghanistan’s World Cup journey will begin with a clash against Bangladesh in Dharamsala on October 7, followed by a match against India in Delhi on October 11. Their last league game will be against South Africa in Ahmedabad on November 10.

This squad announcement has created excitement and anticipation among cricket fans worldwide, as Afghanistan aims to make its mark in the 50-over World Cup with a mix of experienced players and promising talents. With the return of Naveen-ul-Haq and a well-balanced team, Afghanistan will undoubtedly be a team to watch in this prestigious tournament.

Afghanistan squad: Hashmatullah Shahidi (c), Ibrahim Zadran, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rahmat Shah, Riaz Hassan, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil,Azmatullah Omarzai, Rashid Khan, Abdul Rahman, Noor Ahmad, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Naveen-Ul-Haq

Reserves: Gulbadin Naib, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fareed Ahmad


By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45