In a significant shake-up to the Test squad, India is set to embark on a new era as seasoned campaigners Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane find themselves excluded from the playing XI for the first time since the 2010 Test series.

The responsibility of leading the team in the upcoming Tests rests on the shoulders of Rohit Sharma, who has been appointed as the captain.

The selected Test squad includes a mix of experienced players and promising young talents. The batting lineup features the likes of Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, and the wicketkeeping duties will be shared between Ishan Kishan and KL Rahul.

The bowling department is bolstered by the presence of spin maestros Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, along with pace sensations Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Jasprit Bumrah (Vice-Captain), and Prasidh Krishna.

This strategic shift in squad dynamics reflects a forward-looking approach, emphasizing a blend of youth and experience. As India prepares to face the challenges ahead, the exclusion of stalwarts Pujara and Rahane signals a new chapter in Indian Test cricket, underlining the team’s commitment to adaptability and future success.

India’s squad for 2 Tests: Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk), KL Rahul (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Md. Shami*, Jasprit Bumrah (VC), Prasidh Krishna.

ALSO READ: Team India for T20s and ODIs announced for SA tour

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45