Key highlights:

  • 1. Cheteshwar Pujara and Ajinkya Rahane omitted from the Test squad.
  • 2. Sanju Samson and Rajat Patidar named in the South Africa ODI squad.
  • 3. KL Rahul appointed captain for the ODI series in South Africa.
  • 4. Virat Kohli excluded from both ODI and T20I squads.
  • 5. Rohit Sharma to lead India in the 2024 T20 World Cup.

India has announced a dynamic squad for the upcoming series, showcasing a blend of experienced players and promising talents. In the 3 ODIs, the team will witness the prowess of batsmen like Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, and Rajat Patidar, supported by the captain and wicketkeeper KL Rahul. The middle order boasts the likes of Shreyas Iyer and the explosive Sanju Samson.

The bowling department is not to be underestimated, featuring spinners Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, and the wrist-spin duo of Kuldeep Yadav and Yuzvendra Chahal. Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, and the experienced Deepak Chahar provide a formidable pace attack, complemented by the all-rounder Mukesh Kumar.

In the T20Is, the team is set to unleash a power-packed lineup led by Suryakumar Yadav. Batsmen such as Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, and Tilak Varma are poised to dazzle on the shortest format’s stage. The wicketkeeping duties will be handled by the dynamic Ishan Kishan and Jitesh Sharma.

The bowling lineup, featuring spinners Ravindra Jadeja, Washington Sundar, and young leg-spinner Ravi Bishnoi, is well-rounded. The pace battery includes Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, and Deepak Chahar, promising an exciting and competitive series ahead.

And Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli had requested the BCCI for a break from the white-ball leg of the tour, while Md Shami is currently undergoing medical treatment and his availability is subject to fitness.

India’s squad for 3 ODIs: Ruturaj Gaikwad, Sai Sudharsan, Tilak Varma, Rajat Patidar, Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (C) (wk), Sanju Samson (wk), Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan, Arshdeep Singh, Deepak Chahar

India’s squad for 3 T20Is: Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shubman Gill, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Tilak Varma, Suryakumar Yadav (C), Rinku Singh, Shreyas Iyer, Ishan Kishan (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Ravindra Jadeja (VC), Washington Sundar, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Arshdeep Singh, Mohd. Siraj, Mukesh Kumar, Deepak Chahar


By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45