Forget a moment about the IPL. Any sport not only involves the teams involved in the game. The coaches and support personnel play a part in the whole team’s progress. No other sport is separate from Cricket. The players are in the field and are usually the priority, but we also miss the coaches’ and support workers’ contributions. These people can get the most out of a player or squad.

This post will examine the top coaches who will lead their sides in the next IPL season. All the coaches listed were excellent during their days at the table and now do similarly good work by coaching each other for the IPL 2021.


Top 3 Star coaches in the IPL.

Stephen Fleming

Stephen Fleming has been with the Chennai Super Kings since the IPL’s inception in 2008. After signing for US$350,000, he played the inaugural season as a professional. In the ten games he played, he scored 196 runs, averaging 21.77. Fleming has been serving as the head coach of the Chennai Super Kings since 2009.

Under his leadership, Chennai Super Kings secured three IPL titles in 2010, 2011, and 2018 and one Champions League title in 2010. He had an excellent spell with CSK and would like to win the IPL trophy for the fourth time.

Ricky Ponting

Ricky Ponting has been interested in the coaching job since 2014, when he was named the Mumbai Indians’ head coach. From 2014 to 2016, he worked with the franchise. The Mumbai Indians captured the IPL title in 2015 under his leadership. Ponting was later appointed head coach of the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) in 2018 and has been with the team ever since.

The Delhi Capitals placed third in 2019 under his leadership. Ponting helped the Delhi Capitals reach their first-ever IPL final in the previous season. The Delhi Capitals will expect to gain another IPL final under Ricky Ponting in 2021 and finally win their first IPL trophy.

Mahela Jayawardene

Mahela Jayawardene has been the Mumbai Indians’ head coach since the 2017 IPL season. Interestingly, Mumbai Indians have won the IPL trophy three times under him in 2017, his first as a coach, and then again in 2019 and 2020.

The Mumbai Indians are widely regarded as the most prolific franchise in IPL history, having won any club’s most IPL trophies. Mahela Jayawardene will be waiting for his team to win the IPL trophy for the sixth time, completing a hat-trick of IPL trophy victories, an achievement never before accomplished in IPL history.


By Devansh Awasthi

Business Head and Editor-in chief A Software Developer with an MNC, started it all in the summers of 2016 just & just to propagate the game of Cricket. Also a Certified Sports Management Consultant and Cricket Analyst. His passion for Cricket is not hidden only from those knowing him personally but also virtually. His love for the game started from Gullies of Lucknow and wishes to see a future of it in an Office of Cricketkeeda Sports. He brings to the brand the experience and knowledge of Cricket and other sports as well, a person who knows everything about every game ever played in the history of Cricket. Ping him on Social Media or Mail at for anything post fix Cricket. - Host of Cricketkeeda Sports YouTube Handle - Editor-in-Chief