After a considerable hiatus, the Pakistan Women’s cricket team is gearing up for an exciting resurgence, with a captivating three-match T20I series against South Africa, followed by a riveting three-match ODI series.

The Asian side’s last international appearance dates back to the Women’s T20I World Cup in February, where they faced England. With an extended break from competitive cricket, all eyes are on the ‘Women in Green’ as they take on the talented South African team.

In parallel, the Proteas are also emerging from their last encounter in the T20I World Cup, where they locked horns with the dominant Australian side in the final, ultimately conceding defeat by a margin of 19 runs. Now, both teams are set to engage in a thrilling series that promises gripping action and intense competition.

Saleem Jaffar, the chief selector of the Pakistan national women’s team, recently unveiled a comprehensive 15-player squad for both the T20Is and the ODIs. A standout inclusion is the young and promising Shawaal Zulfiqar, who has not only secured her spot for the T20Is but has also clinched a berth in the upcoming Asian Games, scheduled for the following month.

Additionally, the return of experienced Pakistani pacer Diana Baig after a six-month hiatus due to a finger injury adds strength to the team’s bowling unit.

In a significant leadership transition, Nida Dar, a seasoned all-rounder, is set to lead the team, taking over the captaincy from Bismah Maroof. This shift in leadership followed the aftermath of the T20I World Cup, during which Maroof stepped down from her captaincy role.

The finalization of the squads was a result of collaborative discussions between Saleem Jaffar and newly appointed captain Nida Dar, ensuring a cohesive and strategic team composition.

ALSO READ: Rohit takes a joyride with wife in shiny lamborghini, fans eagerly await glimpse

The selected squads reflect a harmonious blend of experienced players and emerging talents, indicating a balanced approach toward building the team’s strength. The T20I squad boasts established names like Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, and the returning Diana Baig, while young talents such as Fatima Sana and the promising Shawaal Zulfiqar showcase the future potential of Pakistan’s cricket.

Pakistan’s T20I squad:

Nida Dar (c), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Muneeba Ali, Najiha Alvi (wk), Nashra Sundhu, Natalia Parvaiz, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Shawaal Zulfiqar, Sidra Amin, Syeda Aroob Shah and Umm-e-Hani

Reserves – Anoosha Nasir, Omaima Sohail and Waheeda Akhtar

Pakistan’s ODI squad:

Nida Dar (c), Aliya Riaz, Bismah Maroof, Diana Baig, Fatima Sana, Ghulam Fatima, Muneeba Ali, Nashra Sundhu, Omaima Sohail, Sadaf Shamas, Sadia Iqbal, Sidra Amin, Sidra Nawaz (wk), Umm-e-Hani and Waheeda Akhtar

Reserves – Najiha Alvi, Natalia Parvaiz and Tuba Hassan


By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45