The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the winners of the prestigious ICC Awards 2023, recognizing outstanding achievements in the world of cricket. The four-day announcement event concluded with Australia’s Pat Cummins and England’s Nat Sciver-Brunt claiming the top honors as ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year and ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year, respectively.

ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year:

Pat Cummins received the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for an exceptional year, leading Australia to victories in the ICC World Test Championship and the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. Cummins showcased outstanding individual performances, securing 42 wickets in 11 Tests and 17 wickets in 13 ODIs. His pivotal role in Australia’s success earned him the prestigious award.

ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year:

Nat Sciver-Brunt clinched her second successive Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year. The England all-rounder displayed remarkable consistency across all formats, contributing with both bat and ball. Sciver-Brunt joins an elite group of players with back-to-back wins, emphasizing her impact on the international stage.

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year:

Usman Khawaja claimed the ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year, surpassing fellow nominees Travis Head, R Ashwin, and Joe Root. Khawaja’s outstanding year saw him score over 1,000 Test runs, including three centuries. At the age of 37, Khawaja expressed humility and privilege in receiving the prestigious award.

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year:

Virat Kohli, the prolific Indian batter, secured the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year for the fourth time. Kohli’s remarkable year included 1,377 runs, surpassing Sachin Tendulkar’s ODI century record. This award adds to Kohli’s impressive collection, marking his seventh individual ICC Award.

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year:

Chamari Athapaththu of Sri Lanka made history by becoming the first female cricketer from Sri Lanka to win an ICC Award. Athapaththu’s outstanding year included 415 runs in eight matches, leading Sri Lanka to victory in the ICC Women’s Championship series against New Zealand.

ICC Umpire of the Year:

Richard Illingworth, the England umpire, secured the David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year for the third time. Illingworth expressed delight and pride, acknowledging the support of colleagues and family.

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award:

Zimbabwe Cricket received the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award for their exemplary sportsmanship following a thrilling victory over West Indies in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier match.


By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45