Taking a tough decision following India’s T20I World Cup debacle, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) on Friday disbanded the Chetan Sharma-led senior national selection committee.

The current selection committee consisted of Chetan (North Zone), Sunil Joshi (South Zone), Harvinder Singh (Central Zone) and Debasish Mohanty (East Zone) apart from him. There was no one in the selection committee from West Zone since Abe Kuruvilla’s term ended.

According to BCCI sources, Chetan was removed from the post during the Board’s Annual General Meeting (AGM) held on October 18. During Chetan’s tenure, India could not qualify for the knockout stage of the T20I World Cup 2021, while the team was defeated in the final of the World Test Championship.

Even in the recent T20I World Cup held in Australia, India’s journey ended with a semi-final defeat to England and the team was once again deprived of winning an ICC trophy. However, it was already believed that the Roger Binny-led BCCI would replace the existing selection committee and form a new committee.

BCCI invites applications :-

Immediately after disbanding the selection committee, BCCI has invited applications for the post of national selectors. BCCI secretary Jai Shah issued a release inviting applications for the post of national selector of the senior men’s team. Applications have been invited for five posts of the National Selection Committee.

Eligible candidates will be those who have played at least seven Test matches or 30 first-class matches or 10 ODIs and 20 first-class matches. Apart from this, the candidate should have retired from cricket at least five years ago. The last date to apply is 28 November.

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45