The Australian Cricket Awards 2024 unfolded in a dazzling ceremony at Melbourne’s Crown Casino, celebrating the outstanding achievements of cricketing stars throughout 2023. Among the luminaries honored, all-rounder Mitchell Marsh emerged as the protagonist, clinching the prestigious Allan Border Medal with a staggering 233 votes, surpassing captain Pat Cummins, who secured 79 votes.

Marsh’s dominance extended further as he clinched the ODI Player of the Year accolade, showcasing his prowess with the bat. His impressive tally of 858 runs from 20 innings at an average of 47.66, adorned with two centuries and five half-centuries, underscored his invaluable contribution to the national team’s success.

In the Test arena, off-spinner Shane Warne was lauded as the Test Player of the Year, having emerged as the linchpin of the bowling attack. With 59 wickets from 23 innings at an average of 24.50, Warne’s stellar performances epitomized his mastery over the craft.

The T20I landscape witnessed the rise of left-arm seamer Jason Behrendorff, who clinched the Men’s T20I Player of the Year award. His exploits with the ball, amassing eight wickets from five innings at an impressive average of 16.50 and an economical spell of 6.50, underscored his prowess in the shortest format.

In the women’s category, all-rounder Ashleigh Gardner’s stellar all-round display earned her the prestigious Belinda Clark Award. Gardner’s remarkable feat of claiming 56 wickets across formats at an average of 19.39 from 30 matches underscored her significance in the team’s success.

Despite narrowly missing out on the Belinda Clark Medal, Ellyse Perry’s remarkable performances did not go unnoticed. Perry clinched both the Women’s T20I and ODI Player of the Year awards, further solidifying her status as a stalwart in women’s cricket.

The ceremony also celebrated individual brilliance in domestic cricket, with Matthew Short of the Adelaide Strikers emerging as the Player of the Tournament for the Big Bash League 2023-24. Short’s prolific run-scoring spree, amassing 541 runs at an impressive average of 60.11, encapsulated the essence of cricketing excellence.

Award – Winners (Men’s)

Allan Border MedalMitchell Marsh

Shane Warne Test Player of the YearNathan Lyon

ODI Player of the YearMitchell Marsh

T20I Player of the YearJason Behrendorff

BBL 13 Player of the TournamentMatthew Short

Domestic Player of the YearCameron Bancroft

Bradman Young Cricketer of the YearFergus O’ Neil


Award – Winners (Women’s)

Belinda Clark AwardAshleigh Gardner

T20I Player of the YearElysse Perry

ODI Player of the YearElysse Perry

WBBL Player of the TournamentChamari Athapaththu

Domestic Player of the YearElyse Villani, Sophie Day

Betty Wilson Young Cricketer of the YearEmma de Broughe

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *