Australia’s Big Bash started the new year with controversy. The Mankading controversy grabbed everyone’s attention in the Big Bash League.

An interesting match was played between Melbourne Renegades and Melbourne Stars on Tuesday (January 3) at the historic Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). In this, Renegades won by 33 runs.

The match was not discussed about its result or the performance of any player. In fact, Adam Zampa of the Melbourne Stars sparked controversy by attempting Mankading.

Zampa was the captain of the Melbourne Stars in this match. He attempted to run out Renegades batsman Tom Rogers at the non-striker’s end while bowling, Rogers was out of the crease.

MacKenzie Harvey, the batsman standing at the other end, was surprised to see this action of Zampa. Zampa was firm on his decision, the umpire then took the support of the third umpire to decide. The third umpire gave Rogers not out.

Why Roger was not run out?

Zampa was surprised by the decision of the third umpire why Rogers was not run out. He asked the on-field umpire the reason for this. On this, Zampa was told that his bowling action was complete. The hand he bowls with had crossed the bowling crease.

For this reason, he cannot run out the batsman at the non-striker’s end. It was wrong according to ICC rules.

What is Mankading?

When a bowler dismisses a batsman on non-strike before bowling the ball, it is called a Mankading runout. Actually, when the bowler feels that the non-striker batsman has already left the crease before he bowls, he can dismiss the batsman by dropping the bails of the non-striker end. Since the ball is not bowled, it is not recorded, but the batsman is definitely out.

WATCH OUT Zampa trying Mankading in BBL

What is ICC rule?

In the year 2017, there was a rule regarding Mankading run out that the bowler would be allowed to run out the batsman standing at the non-striker’s end.

According to MCC Law 41.16.1, the batsman at the non-striker’s end is not required to leave the crease before the bowler has bowled the ball. If he steps out of the crease before the ball is bowled, he can be runout.

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45