The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is busy with the first season of the Women’s IPL. Five franchises of the women’s IPL have been decided on Wednesday. However, the teams are yet to be named.

At the same time, till now no news has been revealed regarding the dates. However, according to media reports, the Women’s IPL may start after the Women’s T20I World Cup. Women’s IPL has been renamed as Women’s Premier League (WPL). At the same time, men’s IPL will be played after this.

According to reports, the WIPL could start from March 4, while the final could be played on March 24. At the same time, the men’s IPL can start from March 31 or April 1. The IPL window has increased due to the addition of two teams last season.

Now a total of 74 matches are to be played. At the same time, 22 matches can be played in WIPL. The window for the WIPL is to be squeezed into the window after the Women’s T20I World Cup.

The Women’s T20I World Cup is going to start from February 10 and the tournament will run till February 26. The Women’s T20I World Cup will be played in South Africa. Only some grounds can be prepared for women’s IPL, on which later men’s IPL matches can also be played. The WPL could be scrapped about a week before the start of the men’s IPL, so that those grounds can be refreshed.

Women’s IPL teams have been announced. A bid of Rs 4669.99 crore has been made to buy five teams. The Ahmedabad franchise is the costliest sold. Adani Sports Line Pvt Ltd, owned by Adani, has named the Ahmedabad franchise. He bought it for Rs 1289 crore, this women has become the most expensive team of IPL.

At the same time, IndiaWin Sports Pvt Ltd, owned by Reliance Group, has bought the Mumbai franchise for Rs 912.99 crore. Royal Challengers Sports Pvt Ltd acquired the Bangalore franchise for Rs 901 crore.

JSW GMR Cricket Pvt Ltd bought the Delhi franchise for Rs 810 crore. At the same time, Capri Global Holdings Pvt Ltd bought the Lucknow franchise for Rs 757 crore.

A decision on how many grounds will be used, along with the schedule and schedule for the tournament, will be taken in a few days, IPL chairman Arun Dhumal said after Wednesday’s auction.

BCCI secretary Jay Shah said that the players’ auction will probably be held in the first week of February. Dhumal said – We are still in talks regarding the match grounds of the first season. Whether the WPL will be in multiple cities or in just one city is to be considered. At the same time we have to look at the logistical challenges involved. 

How much will be the salary cap?

The BCCI has fixed the salary cap for the women’s IPL. It will be Rs 12 crore. This will increase by Rs 1.5 crore every year for the next four years.

In the fifth year this amount will be Rs 18 crore. Icon players were chosen when the men’s IPL started. Nothing like this will happen in the women’s IPL. Five teams each will play in the first three years. After that two years six teams will participate.

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45