What will be the emotion level for 80s and 90s kids if we say that Sachin and Sehwag goona open for India again? How it feels to see Zaheer and Agarkar sharing the new ball for India again. Yes, we also know that without no doubt that will be the news of the day. And not only this but if you get to know that these legends will be playing against the likes of greats likes Lara, Brett Lee, Johnny Rhodes, Chanderpaul, Muttiah Murlitharan and so many names to follow the excitement level goes beyond cloud nine. So the reason behind these legends are lining up is because of the Road Safety cause that is taking so much of lives. All these greats are united for the awareness about the road safety while driving.

The Background

The Unacdemy Road Safety World Series will be the 5-nation cricket tournament to stand for the awareness of Road Safety while driving. Every year almost 1.5-2 lakhs people loose thier lives due to road accidents and on an average one person dies on road in every 4 minutes due to the vehicular accidents. In last 5 years almost 65 lakhs people got disabled because of the road accidents. The legends from the 5 nations will be united to spread the awareness on it.

Participating Nations

The Unacdemy Road Safety World Series will comprises the legends form five nations i.e. Indian Legends, West Indies Legends, Australian Legends, Sri Lankan legends and the South African legends.

Tournament Schedule, Format and Venues

The tournament will be played from 7th March to 22nd March in a round-robin format in which all the teams will be playing against each other once before the top-2 teams will ne playing the final on 22nd March 2020. The venues will be the CCI Stadium(Mumbai), Wankhede Stadium(Mumbai), Dr. DY Patil Stadium(Mumbai) and the MCA Stadium(Pune). The finals will be played at the CCI Stadium in Mumbai.

The Schedule

Match 1 : March 7, 2020: India Legends vs West Indies Legends, Wankhede (Mumbai)

Match 2 : March 8, 2020: Australia Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends, Wankhede (Mumbai)

Match 3 : March 10, 2020: India Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends, DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 4 : March 11, 2020: West Indies Legends vs South Africa Legends, DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 5 : March 13, 2020: South Africa Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends, DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 6 : March 14, 2020: India Legends vs South Africa Legends, MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 7 : March 16, 2020: Australia Legends vs West Indies Legends, MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 8 : March 17, 2020: West Indies Legends vs Sri Lanka Legends, MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 9 : March 19, 2020: Australia Legends vs South Africa Legends, DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)

Match 10 : March 20, 2020: India Legends vs Australia Legends, MCA Stadium (Pune)

Match 11 : March 22, 2020 : Finals, CCI Stadium (Mumbai)

The Squads

Indian Legends

Sachin Tendulkar (C), Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Irfan Pathan , Ajit Agarkar, Sanjay Bangar, Munaf Patel, Mohammad Kaif, Pragyan Ojha, Sairaj Bahutule, Sameer Dighe (WK)

Sri Lankan Legends

Tillakaratne Dilshan (C), Dulanjana Wijesinghe, Chamara Kapugedara, Chaminda Vaas, Farveez Maharoof, Marvan Atapattu, Muttiah Muralitharan, Rangana Herath, Romesh Kaluwitharana, Sachithra Senanayake, Thilan Tushara, Thilina Kandamby, Upul Chandana.

West Indies Legends

Brian Lara (c), Yohan Blake, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Adam Sanford, Carl Hooper, Danza Hyatt, Darren Ganga, Pedro Collins, Ricardo Powell, Ridley Jacobs (wk), Samuel Badree, Suleiman Benn.

South Africa Legends

Jonty Rhodes (C), Andrew Butch James, Andrew Hall, Garnett John Peter Kruger, J Rudolph, Albie Morkel, JJ Van Der Wath, Neil Rhodes, Lance Klusener, Martin Van Jaarsveld, Morne Van Wyk, Paul Harris, Ryan McLaren

Australian Legends

Brett Lee (c), Brad Hodge, Brett Geeves, Clint McKay, George Grean, Jason Krejza, Mark Cosgrove, Nathan Reardon, Rob Quiney, Shane Lee, Travis Birt, Xavier Doherty.

No matter which team wins the tournament but with Legends like Sachin Tendulker Virender Sehwag, Yuvraj Singh, Zaheer Khan, Brett Lee, Shane Watson, Brian Lara, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Marvan Atapattu, Muttiah Muralitharan, Chaminda Vaas, Lance Klusener, Jonty Rhodes and many more in the the Cricket and the Public awareness will be the winners. This is the main objective behind this grand-tournament.

Former Indian great Sunil Gavaskar will be the commissioner of the tournament. As told by the sources the public response has been overwhelming till now and they are eagerly waiting for the start of Ticket Sales which is set to start by next week onwards.

By Devansh Awasthi

Business Head and Editor-in chief A Software Developer with an MNC, started it all in the summers of 2016 just & just to propagate the game of Cricket. Also a Certified Sports Management Consultant and Cricket Analyst. His passion for Cricket is not hidden only from those knowing him personally but also virtually. His love for the game started from Gullies of Lucknow and wishes to see a future of it in an Office of Cricketkeeda Sports. He brings to the brand the experience and knowledge of Cricket and other sports as well, a person who knows everything about every game ever played in the history of Cricket. Ping him on Social Media or Mail at devanshawasthi4@gmail.com for anything post fix Cricket. - Host of Cricketkeeda Sports YouTube Handle - Editor-in-Chief