In a surprising move, the Senior Men’s Selection Committee has announced the Indian squad for the upcoming five-match T20I series against West Indies to be played in the Caribbean Islands and in Florida, USA.

The selection committee has made some bold decisions by appointing Hardik Pandya as the captain and leaving out senior players Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli from the squad.

ALSO READ- Anderson out, as England Playing XI announced for 3rd Ashes Test

The decision to hand the captaincy to Hardik Pandya marks a significant moment in his career. Known for his explosive batting and valuable contributions with the ball, Pandya has been a vital cog in the Indian cricket setup. However, this will be his first experience leading the national team, and all eyes will be on him to see how he handles this new responsibility.

The squad features a mix of experienced and young players, showcasing the selectors’ intent to provide opportunities to promising talents. Ishan Kishan and Sanju Samson will shoulder the wicketkeeping duties, while Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, and Tilak Varma bring their exuberance to the batting lineup.

Surya Kumar Yadav, with his recent impressive performances, has been appointed as the vice-captain, emphasizing his growing stature in Indian cricket.

The spin department comprises the duo of Yuzvendra Chahal and Kuldeep Yadav, who have been instrumental in India’s success in the limited-overs format. They will be joined by Axar Patel and Ravi Bishnoi, adding variety and depth to the spin attack.

The pace battery consists of Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, and Mukesh Kumar, who will be eager to make their mark on the international stage.

The exclusion of Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, two stalwarts of Indian cricket, raises eyebrows. It appears to be a strategic decision by the selectors, possibly aiming to provide rest and give opportunities to other players ahead of important upcoming tournaments.

As the Indian team gears up for the T20I series against West Indies, the focus will be on the young guns to step up and prove their mettle at the international level. With Hardik Pandya leading the side and a blend of experience and youth in the squad, the series promises to be an exciting platform for the emerging talents to showcase their skills and stake their claim in Indian cricket’s future.

India’s T20I squad: Ishan Kishan (wk), Shubman Gill, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Surya Kumar Yadav (VC), Sanju Samson (wk), Hardik Pandya (C), Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravi Bishnoi, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Avesh Khan, Mukesh Kumar

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45