India has announced its 15-man squad for the highly anticipated 2024 T20 World Cup set to kick off on June 1st, with matches taking place in the USA and West Indies. Led by the seasoned campaigner Rohit Sharma, the squad boasts a blend of experience and youth, aiming to reclaim T20 World Cup cricket’s ultimate prize.

Among the notable inclusions are Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube, and Sanju Samson, who bring their explosive batting prowess to the squad. Pant’s ability to turn matches on their head, Dube’s powerful hitting, and Samson’s consistency make them valuable assets in the T20 format. Additionally, Hardik Pandya has been named vice-captain, adding leadership and firepower to the team.

T20 World Cup

Follow Our FB page for latest sports updates

Yuzvendra Chahal’s return to the squad is noteworthy, with the leg-spinner earning his place on the back of stellar performances in the IPL. He joins spin options Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel, providing variety and depth to India’s bowling attack.

The pace department is led by Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj, with Arshdeep Singh adding to the firepower. Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dube offer seam-bowling options, adding versatility to the bowling unit.

In the batting department, Yashasvi Jaiswal has been entrusted with the responsibility of partnering Rohit Sharma at the top of the order. Jaiswal’s explosive batting style makes him a potent force in the powerplay overs.

The squad’s depth is highlighted by the inclusion of Shubman Gill, who provides cover as a reserve player along with Rinku Singh. Fast bowlers Khaleel Ahmed and Avesh Khan complete the reserve players’ list, adding depth to India’s bowling reserves.

ALSO READ: Bangladesh’s School Cricket affected by severe heatwave

With the T20 World Cup being a highly anticipated event, India will be eager to put their best foot forward and stake their claim for the title. The squad’s balance of experience and youth, coupled with its depth in both batting and bowling departments, positions them as strong contenders for the coveted trophy.

As the countdown to the tournament begins, expectations are high for Team India to deliver a memorable performance on the world stage.

India squad for 2024 T20 World Cup

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

Reserve players: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *