Sri Lanka’s cricket board has unveiled its 15-member squad for the upcoming 2024 T20 World Cup, with Wanindu Hasaranga appointed as the captain. The announcement, made on Thursday, signals a new era for Sri Lankan cricket as they prepare to compete in Group D against formidable opponents such as South Africa, Bangladesh, Netherlands, and Nepal.

In addition to the main squad, Sri Lanka has also named four traveling reserves, showcasing the depth and talent within their ranks. The team is set to embark on their journey to the USA and the West Indies on May 14, gearing up for what promises to be an exhilarating tournament.

ALSO READ- MS Dhoni’s connection to Baahubali animated series? SS Rajamouli respond

Sri Lanka

With the spotlight firmly on them, Sri Lanka will be looking to make a mark on the global stage and reclaim their status as a cricketing powerhouse. Led by the dynamic leadership of Hasaranga, they will be aiming to showcase their skills and compete fiercely against their group rivals.

The inclusion of experienced players alongside promising youngsters highlights Sri Lanka’s commitment to striking a balance between youth and experience. This blend of talent bodes well for their prospects in the tournament and underscores their determination to excel on cricket’s grandest stage.

Sri Lanka team can make any changes until 25 May :-

As the countdown to the T20 World Cup begins, Sri Lanka will have until May 25 to make any changes to their squad, with subsequent alterations requiring approval from the ICC’s Event Technical Committee. This flexibility provides teams with the opportunity to fine-tune their line-ups and address any unforeseen circumstances ahead of the competition.

Follow Our FB page for latest sports updates

In the lead-up to the tournament, all eyes will be on Sri Lanka as they embark on their quest for glory. With a challenging group stage ahead, they will need to be at their best to navigate past formidable opponents and advance to the latter stages of the competition.

Sri Lanka Squad :-

Wanindu Hasaranga (C), Charith Asalanka (VC), Kusal Mendis, Pathum Nissanka, Kamindu Mendis, Sadeera Samarawickrama, Angelo Mathews, Dasun Shanaka, Dhananjaya De Silva, Maheesh Theekshana, Dunith Wellalage, Dushmantha Chameera, Nuwan Thushara, Matheesha Pathirana, Dilshan Madushanka

Reserves: Asitha Fernando, Vijayakanth Viyaskanth, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Janith Liyanage

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *