Indian team captain Rohit Sharma made a unique DRS demand on the first day of the WTC final against Australia on Wednesday. In the first session of the game, Rohit Sharma made a DRS gesture with his hands behind his back, which stunned Mohammed Shami.
Indian captain Rohit Sharma invited Australia to bat first after winning the toss in the WTC final. With the help of excellent innings from Trevid Head (146*) and Steve Smith (95*), the Kangaroo team scored 327 runs losing three wickets in 85 overs till stumps on the first day. Till now there has been an unbeaten partnership of 251 runs for the fourth wicket between Head and Smith.
However, one scene caught everyone’s attention during the match and that was Rohit Sharma’s demand for DRS. Indian team’s medium fast bowler Shardul Thakur was doing the 18th over of the innings. His ball hit the pad of Marnus Labuschagne. The Indian team made a strong appeal for LBW, but the umpire ruled in favor of the batsman.
The Indian team, including captain Rohit Sharma, started considering taking DRS. Rohit felt that the ball was on the middle stump line and could get LBW. Then he did not look at the umpire, but demanded DRS with his hands behind his back. Even in the replay, the decision did not come in favor of the Indian team, but this unique style of Rohit was liked by the fans.
Let us tell you that ICC has also shared the video of Rohit Sharma taking DRS on his Instagram account. It has gone viral on social media.
As far as Marnus Labuschagne is concerned, shortly after lunch, Mohammed Shami bowled the right-handed batsman cleanly. But Australia was not harmed by this setback as Head and Smith handled the front well and brought the team to a strong position.