8 March is generally referred to as “International Women’s Day”. The purpose behind celebrating this day is to promote peace with women’s rights. While every day is a women’s day, this particular day is marked to honor all the women and their achievements regardless of the divisions, whether national, ethnic, linguistic, cultural, economic or political. Time and again, women have proved their worth by excelling in every field and bringing pride. They are not just powerful leaders in the economic and political domain but rule in sports, entertainment and other categories as well. But do you know why International Women’s Day is celebrated or how it started? Know what is the reason behind this. On this auspicious day, we shall take a look at the current squad of Indian women’s cricket team.


The All-India Women’s Selection Committee had recently picked the squads for India Women’s upcoming Paytm ODI and T20I series against South Africa Women. The series comprises of 5 ODIs and 3 T20Is and will be played at Lucknow’s Bharat Ratna Shree Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana International Stadium.
The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is the governing body for the Indian cricket team and first-class cricket in India. The Board has been operating since 1929 and represents India at the International Cricket Council. It is amongst the richest sporting organisations in the world. It sold media rights for India’s matches from 2006–2010 for US$612,000,000.[21] It manages the Indian team’s sponsorships, its future tours and team selection. The International Cricket Council (ICC) determines India’s upcoming matches through its future tours program. India’s current T20I captain Harmanpreet Kaur also happens to have her Birthday today. She has been a pillar to the Indian team and it would be safe to call her one of the most dynamic female cricketers from India.

India’s current ODI captain is Mithali Raj, she’s one of the greatest batswoman of all time. She has been playing international cricket for more than 20 years. Both Raj and Kaur have been sensational captains for India and the women in blue look in no mood to stop.


India Women’s squad for ODI series: Mithali Raj (Captain), Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Punam Raut, Priya Punia, Yastika Bhatia, Harmanpreet Kaur (vice-captain), D. Hemalatha, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Swetha Verma (wicket-keeper), Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Poonam Yadav, C. Prathyusha, Monica Patel

India Women’s T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (Captain), Smriti Mandhana (vice-captain), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Richa Ghosh, Harleen Deol, Sushma Verma (wicket-keeper), Nuzhat Parveen (wicket-keeper), Ayushi Soni, Arundhati Reddy, Radha Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, C. Prathyusha, Simran Dil Bahadur

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.