The International Cricket Council (ICC) has revealed the shortlists for the ICC Awards 2023 in the men’s and women’s ODI categories. The nominees were determined by a panel of cricket writers and broadcasters based on their on-field performances and overall achievements in international cricket during the calendar year.

In the men’s category, India’s Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, and Mohammed Shami, as well as New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell, are in contention for the ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award. Gill spent a considerable amount of time at the top of the MRF Tyres ICC Men’s ODI batter rankings in 2023, scoring an impressive 1584 runs and earning two ICC Men’s Player of the Month Awards.

Kohli, who is a two-time Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy winner and three-time Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year, scored six centuries in ODI cricket during the year. Shami, who was also a top performer during the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, took 43 wickets in ODI matches in 2023.

The women’s category is dominated by all-rounders, with Nat Sciver-Brunt, Chamari Athapaththu, Ashleigh Gardner, and Amelia Kerr all in contention for the ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award. Sciver-Brunt won both the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year and ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year awards last year and continued her impressive form in 2023, scoring three centuries in ODI matches and ending the year with an average of 131 with the bat.

Athapaththu scored freely atop the order, ending 2023 with a remarkable strike rate of 125.37 in ODI cricket. Gardner won three consecutive ICC Women’s Player of the Month awards during the year, including successive awards in June and July.

She scored valuable runs in the middle order and also took more wickets than any other player (24). Kerr ended 2023 as the leading run-scorer in ODI cricket with 541 runs at an average of 67.62 and also took eight wickets with the ball.

Fans can now vote for their favorite players in ODI, T20I, and Emerging categories on the ICC website. The final categories will be announced tomorrow as more nominees are revealed by the ICC. The winners will be announced later this month. In addition to individual awards, five ICC Teams of the Year will also be selected by the ICC Voting Academy to recognize standout XIs across men’s and women’s international cricket in 2023.

ICC Awards 2023 – the shortlists revealed till the writing of this article :-

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Shubman Gill (India), Virat Kohli (India), Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand), Mohammed Shami (India)

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Ashleigh Gardner (Australia), Amelia Kerr (New Zealand), Nat Sciver-Brunt (England)

ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Mark Chapman (New Zealand), Alpesh Ramjani (Uganda), Sikandar Raza (Zimbabwe), Suryakumar Yadav (India)

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year: Chamari Athapaththu (Sri Lanka), Sophie Ecclestone (England), Hayley Matthews (West Indies), Ellyse Perry (Australia)

ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year: Gerald Coetzee (South Africa), Yashasvi Jaiswal (India), Dilshan Madushanka (Sri Lanka), Rachin Ravindra (New Zealand)

ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year: Marufa Akter (Bangladesh), Lauren Bell (England), Darcey Carter (Scotland), Phoebe Litchfield (Australia

By Ritik Sharma

A common man who is doing calm se kaam, a failed cricketer, still in love with it. Establishing my journey into Journalism & if you love my articles then share it with your dear ones Instagram - @ritiksharma45