The International Cricket Council (ICC) have declared their team of the decade awards. They announced their Test team of the decade, ODI team of the decade as well as their T20I team of the decade. It comprises of individual across various nations. The T20I side is comprised of four players from India, two from Australia, two West Indies and one each from Sri Lanka, South Africa, and Afghanistan. Current Indian captain Virat Kohli, pacer Jasprit Bumrah and Rohit Sharma are the other Indians in the T20I team. Former South African skipper AB de Villiers and Universe Boss – Chris Gayle are also included in the line-up.


ICC’s T20I Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma, Chris Gayle, Aaron Finch, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni (c and wk), Kieron Pollard, Rashid Khan, Jasprit Bumrah and Lasith Malinga. The ICC’s ODI team of the decade led by Dhoni includes star Indian batsmen Sharma and Kohli. In the team, David Warner and Rohit have been picked as openers while former South Africa cricketer AB De Villiers is picked as a middle-order batsman. Bangladesh’s Shakib Al Hasan and England’s Ben Stokes are the two all-rounders in the team.The pace attack includes Australian bowler Micthell Starc, New Zealand’s Trent Boult, and Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga. ICC’s ODI Team of the Decade: Rohit Sharma, David Warner, Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Shakib Al Hasan, MS Dhoni (c and wk), Ben Stokes, Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Imran Tahir and Lasith Malinga. ICC have chosen
former India captain MS Dhoni as the leader of both the Limited-Overs sides.
ICC’s Test team of the decade comprises of four England players. The team includes 4 Test players from England but captain Joe Root, who is also a part of the Fab Four of the era, has not found a place. Other members of the Fab Four – Kohli, Steve Smith and Kane Williamson have been include in the Test team of the decade.


India’s premier off-spinner in Tests Ravichandran Ashwin is the only other Indian cricketer to have made the list of the ICC Men’s Test Team of the decade. Ashwin, who made his Test debut in 2011 and is currently playing the Test series in Australia, has 2404 runs and 370 wickets from 72 Test matches. ICC Men’s Test Team of the decade: Alastair Cook, David Warner, Kane Williamson, Virat Kohli (capt), Steve Smith, Kumar Sangakkara (wicketkeeper), Ben Stokes, Ravichandran Ashwin, Dale Steyn, Stuart Broad, James Anderson.

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.