Smriti Mandhana named ICC Women's Cricketer of the Year

The Indian women’s cricketer Smriti Mandhana became the ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year for 2021, while Shaheen Shah Afridi became ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year for 2021

‘I got five-fors in Tests but my most memorable performance was during our victory against India in the World Cup,’ said Afridi while receiving the honor as He dismissed 3 Indian batter- Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Rohit Sharma in the T20 WC.

India’s performance left a lot to be desired in 2021, Smriti Mandhana had a great year as she scored 225 runs in 9 T20Is, and 352 runs in 11 ODIs, and got her maiden Test century as well in the pink-ball Test match in Australia.

Lizelle Lee grabbed the Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year award, while Tammy Beaumont, who scored 303 runs in nine games, became Women’s T20 Cricketer of the Year. Janneman Malan and Fatima Sana were named ICC Emerging Cricketers in the Men’s and Women’s categories respectively.

Austria’s Andrea-Mae Zepeda was rewarded with the Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year for her incredible consistency with the bat. She scored 361 runs in eight T20Is. Oman’s Zeeshan Maqsood won this award in the Men’s category.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube
Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan walk out in tandem, Pakistan v West Indies, 1st T20 icc, Karachi, December 13, 2021
ICC T20I and ODI cricketers of the year 2021 – Mohammed Rizwan and Babar Azam.

Pakistan Skipper Babar Azam, who made Pakistan beat India first time ever in the World Cup got the ODI Cricketer of the Year award, while his opening partner Mohammad Rizwan, became the T20 Cricketer of the Year. England Skipper Joe Root, who recently lost the Ashes series by 4-0 to Australia was honored with the ICC Test Cricketer of the Year.

‘If there was one hundred that really sticks out it would probably be in Chennai against India,’ Root said which refers to his double century against India at M.A. Chidambaram Stadium.

Yuvraj Singh, wife Hazel Keech blessed with baby boy : ‘We are elated, wish you to respect our privacy’, says Yuvraj

South Africa’s Marais Erasmus adjudged ICC Umpire of the Year 2021, wins award for third time. Erasmus has been officiating at the highest level in cricket since 2007 and has also been the man in the middle for 70 Tests, 35 men’s T20Is and 18 women’s T20Is. It is the third time Erasmus is winning the David Shepherd Trophy after winning it previously in 2016 and 2017.

By Abhishek Pandey

Non-Aspiring future engineer having many aspirations in life. A lover of cricket and football, an admirer of the GOATs in both games. Solving the jigsaw puzzles of life in my own way to find the treasure of peace. There is only one quote that keeps me going- 'There is no way for being happy, being happy is the only way.'