Cricket South Africa has announced a 24- man squad for their upcoming Limited- overs series against England. Their lead pacer Kagiso Rabada is back in South Africa’s white-ball squad after missing the ODI series against Australia, earlier this year. His compatriot Junior Dala, who hasn’t played for South Africa since March 2019, is also back in the fold. Meanwhile, speedster Glenton Stuurman has received his maiden international call-up. Faf du Plessis and Quinton de Kock will spearhead the batting segment, which also comprises Temba Bavuma, Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Heinrich Klaasen and Rassie van der Dussen.


Quinton De Kock is currently in UAE playing the Indian Premiere League (IPL) and is the leading run scorer of his franchise (Mumbai Indians). Top-order batsman Aiden Markram has been left out from the squad. He hasn’t played white-ball cricket for South Africa since the 2019 World Cup. All-rounder Chris Morris, who sustained an injury ahead of the IPL 2020 Eliminator, is also not a part of the squad. Meanwhile, Dale Steyn, who represented RCB along with Morris, was unavailable for selection against England. Rabada, Lungi Ngidi, and Anrich Nortje will lead SA’s pace attack. The three of them were recently seen in the ongoing IPL 2020. The contingent of spinners will be led by Tabraiz Shamsi. The selectors have also picked up a quartet of left-arm spinners, Keshav Maharaj, George Linde, Bjorn Fortuin and (all-rounder) Jon-Jon Smuts. Notably, Smuts could be preferred in the XI, owing to his batting ability. The home leg against England will resume international cricket in South Africa, which was stalled due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Newlands will host the first T20I on November 27, while the second and third T20Is will be played on November 29 and December 1 respectively. After that, the three ODIs will take place on December 4, 6, and 9.


South Africa squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Faf du Plessis, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, George Linde, Keshav Maharaj, Janneman Malan, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Lutho Sipamla, Jon-Jon Smuts, Glenton Stuurman, Pite van Biljon, Rassie van der Dussen, Kyle Verreynne

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.