In what is truly a historic day for Indian cricket and its fans, India have managed to retain the Border-Gavasker Trophy and have beaten Australia to have won the series, yet again. The Gabba fortress has been breached and an inexperienced Indian team has chased down 327 to script history and it’s Rishabh Pant, who made an unbeaten 89 off 138 deliveries and delivered the win for India. Shubman Gill with a brilliant 91 and Pujara with a patient 211-ball 56 ensured India dominated proceedings and in the end Pant with his heroics scripted a fascinating win. India had won a historic Test series Down Under two years back and now the team is cherishing back-to-back series victory. The visitors had lost the ODI series before winning the T20 series that preceded the Test rubber.


A counter-attack from Shubman Gill (91) set up a thrilling hour of play on either side of the Lunch break, before Ajinkya Rahane joined Cheteshwar Pujara. Rishabh Pant (89*) was promoted to Number 5 as India looked to go for the win in the afternoon session. At Tea, India were 183/3, needing 146 to win in the final session. Pujara, after weathering numerous blows to the body, was given out LBW on umpire’s call for 56. Pant carried on India’s charge towards a historic win in the last hour of the Test, hitting the winning runs with minutes remaining before close of play. Australia had not lost a Test at the Gabba in 32 years before this. India needed 15 runs to win in 5 overs when Australia concede an overthrow. Show how out of sorts this final assault has pushed them to becoming. Sundar has to put in a dive to make his ground. This match might be being played in whites, but this has all the makings of a T20 match now. Four leg byes as Sundar founx the third man fence. Pant pulled off some breathtaking cover drives off  Pat Cummins and Josh Hazlewood in the final session though he benefitted from missed stumping chance.


The entire cricket fraternity were shocked on India’s amazing victory. A lot of famous personalities have their opinions on this wonderful victory. India’s Prime Minister Narendra Modi tweeted saying ” We are all overjoyed at the success of the Indian Cricket Team in Australia. Their remarkable energy and passion was visible throughout. So was their stellar intent, remarkable grit and determination. Congratulations to the team! Best wishes for your future endeavours.” Former Indian captain Sourav Ganguly tweeted saying “Just a remarkable win…To go to Australia and win a test series in this way ..will be remembered in the history of indian cricket forever ..Bcci announces a 5 cr bonus for the team ..The value of this win is beyond any number ..well done to every member of the touring party.” Last but not the least, BCCI Secretary Jay Shah tweeted saying “The @BCCI has announced INR 5 Crore as team bonus. These are special moments for India Cricket. An outstanding display of character and skill #TeamIndia #AUSvIND #Gabba”

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.