England have announced their Limited- overs squad for their upcoming ODI smd T20I series against South Africa. Jofra Archer, Ben Stokes and Sam Curran have been rested for the one-day international leg of the tour but they will be part of the squad for the three-match Twenty20 series, set to get underway later this month, preceding the three-match ODI series. The England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB) have named 23 players in all with 10 of them featuring in both squads. Stokes, Archer, Sam Curran, Chris Jordan and Dawid Malan have only been picked for the T20Is while Joe Root, Chris Woakes, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone and Olly Stone have just been included in the 50-over squad. Joe Root, England’s best batsman in Test and ODIs still can’t find a place in the shortest format of the game.


There is no place in either squad for Joe Denly as well, who played in the T20I series against Australia at the end of their home season, while Sam Billings has been selected for the T20I series. As has been the norm since cricket got back underway after the global pandemic, the players will be confined to bio-secure bubbles during the tour. Archer, Stokes and Curran have already been in a bubble during their participation in the Indian T20 League 2020 tournament being held in the United Arab Emirates. Speaking about living life in an extended bubble, Archer said last week while speaking to British media, as per Reuters, “You’re not at the ground but you still can’t get away from cricket. It’s OK and it will be over soon anyway. You’re just counting days down till you’re free again.” The players and support staff will leave for Cape Town on November 16. Eoin Morgan & Co. will play one 50-over intra-squad practice match and two T20s in preparation for the two series which will be played behind closed doors.


The first T20I will be played at Newlands on November 27. The second and third matches will take place at the same venue on November 29 and December 1 before the ODI series begins three days later and concludes with games on December 4 and 9.

England squads for limited-over series against South Africa:

ODIs: Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Joe Root, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Sam Billings, Tom Curran, Lewis Gregory, Liam Livingstone, Adil Rashid, Olly Stone, Reece Topley, Chris Woakes, Mark Wood

T20Is: Eoin Morgan (c), Jason Roy, Jonny Bairstow, Jos Buttler, Moeen Ali, Jofra Archer, Sam Billings, Sam Curran, Tom Curran, Chris Jordan, Dawid Malan, Adil Rashid, Ben Stokes, Reece Topley, Mark Wood

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.