Cricket Australia has made it a habit of changing rules in almost every Big Bash League (BBL) season. Over the years, there have been a lot of new rules across various BBL seasons. Ahead of the 10th BBL season, Cricket Australia has announced three new rules which are to be followed in the upcoming season. Power Surge’, ‘X-factor Player’ and ‘Bash Boost’ were the three new rules unveiled by the Big Bash League ahead of the tenth edition starting December 10.


The ‘Power Surge’ will consist of a two-over period where the fielding side is allowed only two fielders outside the inner ring. The batting side can take it at any given time from the 11th over of the innings onwards. Meanwhile, the Powerplay at the start of the innings has been reduced to four overs. The ‘X-factor Player’, who is named as the 12th or 13th player, can get into the game at the 10th over of the first innings, replacing any player who is yet to bat, or has bowled no more than a single over. The ‘Bash Boost’ is a bonus point given midway through the second innings. The side that is chasing down the target will be awarded with the bonus point, “if they’re above the equivalent 10-over score of their opposition”. However, if the team that is chasing is behind at the 10-over mark, the fielding side will be awarded with the point. A team can now score four points every game as the points awarded for a win in general has been increased to three points from two previously. “The introduction of these new innovations is yet another reason why the KFC BBL|10 season is set up to be the most exciting in the League’s history. “The Power Surge, X-Factor and Bash Boost prioritise scoring, exciting cricket, introduce new strategic angles and ensure there’s always something to play for throughout the entire match” said Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia’s Head of BBL.


The evolution of the KFC BBL Playing Conditions follows a raft of star player signings across the league and the introduction of a third overseas player in a club’s playing XI. Various world class players who have established themselves in the International arena such as Dawid Malan, Rashid Khan, and Mohammad Nabi, Mitchell Starc, Sam Billings, Jonny Bairstow, Nicholas Pooran, Carlos Brathwaite, Jason Roy, Alex Hales, Morne Morkel, and Imran Tahir will be participating in this edition of the BBL. The season will begin in Tasmania and ACT with the first match on December 10, with matches moving to Queensland and South Australia later in the month.

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.