With just a day after completing the ODI series, both Australia and India are set to face each other in the first of the three T20I matches. The Aussies had to cope with a slew of injuries, which allowed India to snatch a win in the last ODI of the series. Australia will be without Pat Cummins, David Warner, and possibly Mitchell Starc and Marcus Stoinis for the T20I series. Meanwhile, India will be filled with confidence ahead of the T20 encounter between the two sides. Their bowling unit finally clicked in the final ODI of the series and T Natarajan’s strong debut bodes well for the team. The question is will India he able to win the T20I series?

Match Details:


December 4, 2020 (Friday)


01:40 PM (IST), 08:10 AM (GMT), 07:10 PM (Local)


Manuka Oval, Canberra

What To Expect:

The wicket at Canberra was more balanced than expected, and there was something in it for the pacers and spinners. However, the upcoming T20 match is likely to be more of a high-scoring game. It’s likely to be sunny in Canberra on the day of the match. The temperature should be at around 28 degrees Celsius with no rain expected during the game.



D’arcy Short will is likely to open the batting with Aaron Finch for Australia in David Warner’s absence. Ashton Agar and Adam Zampa should be their team’s two spinners for this match. Agar was impressive against the Indian batsmen in the 3rd ODI. Mitchell Starc, Josh Hazlewood, and Sean Abbott will be the side’s main pacers. However, Starc could be replaced by Daniel Sams if he isn’t fit in time for the match.

Australia Predicted Playing XI:

Aaron Finch (C), D’arcy Short, Steve Smith, Cameron Green/ Marnus Labuschagne, Glenn Maxwell, Alex Carey (WK), Ashton Agar, Sean Abbott, Mitchell Starc/ Daniel Sams, Josh Hazlewood, and Adam Zampa.



KL Rahul should open the batting for India along with Shikhar Dhawan. Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, and Manish Pandey should form the team’s middle-order. Hardik Pandya and Ravindra Jadeja formed a good partnership in the 3rd ODI and the duo will continue at the No. 6 and No. 7 positions.

India Predicted Playing XI:

KL Rahul (WK), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (C), Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, T Natarajan/ Deepak Chahar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Mohammed Shami, and Jasprit Bumrah.

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.