It was rather unfortunate that the Pakistan Super League (PSL) had to be abruptly postponed due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Just as things started to get more exciting, a lot of PSL teams saw their players get tested positive for COVID-19. Thus, PCB were left with no option but to untimely postpone the tournament untill further notice. After waiting for several months, we shall finally witness the second leg of PSL 2021. However, it is all set to take place in UAE and not Pakistan. We are set to witness All the six teams, i.e. the Multan Sultans, Lahore Qalandars, Peshawar Zalmi, Karachi Kings, Islamabad United and Quetta Gladiators are all set to battle it out and settle their scores from the first leg.

Are you yet to visit our  YouTube Channel?

Sarfraz Ahmed will be looking forward to make a strong case for comeback

Player’s availability a cause of concern

The playoffs of PSL 2021 may start on June 16 while the finals of the T20 League may take place on June 20. We have already got some major updates with respect to various teams and the availability of their players. After allowing all the six franchises to make changes in their squads through an online event and pick two new players for their teams. Post the online gathering, PSL organizers released an official statement revealing that the franchises have chosen a total of 12 players.
Earlier, it was decided that all teams will be allowed 20-member squads and the teams submitted a total of 12 picks which included replacement as well as the 19th and 20th player submissions for some of the teams. Islamabad United, Karachi Kings, Lahore Qalandars have not made selections for their 20th player, which they will make later if needed.

Also Read : Who are certainly the future captains of Indian Cricket?

PSL 2021 was halted midway due to rise in COVID-19 cases


Updated squads of the PSL teams

Islamabad United: Shadab Khan (c), Ahmed Saifi Abdullah, Ali Khan, Akif Javed, Asif Ali, Colin Munro, Fawad Ahmed, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Iftikhar Ahmed, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Mohammad Akhlaq, Musa Khan, Rohail Nazir, Usman Khawaja, Zafar Gohar and Zeeshan Zameer

Karachi Kings: Imad Wasim (c), Abbas Afridi, Amir Yamin, Arshad Iqbal, Babar Azam, Chadwick Walton, Danish Aziz, Martin Guptill, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Ilyas, Mohammad Haris, Thisara Perera, Najeebullah Zadran, Noor Ahmed, Qasim Akram, Sharjeel Khan, Waqas Maqsood and Zeeshan Malik

Lahore Qalandars: Sohail Akhtar (c), Ahmed Danyal, Ben Dunk, Callum Ferguson, Dilbar Hussain, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, James Faulkner, Maaz Khan, Mohammad Faizan, Mohammad Hafeez, Rashid Khan, Salman Ali Agha, Seekuge Prasana, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Sultan Ahmed (replaces Joe Burns), Tim David, Zaid Alam and Zeeshan Ashraf

Multan Sultans: Mohammad Rizwan (c), Hammad Azam, Imran Tahir, Imran Khan Snr, Johnson Charles, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Umar, Obed McCoy, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Rilee Rossouw, Shahid Afridi, Shahnawaz Dhani, Shan Masood, Shimron Hetmyer (partially available), Sohaib Maqsood, Sohaibullah, Sohail Khan, Sohail Tanvir, Usman Qadir and Muhammad Waseem

Peshawar Zalmi: Wahab Riaz (c), Abrar Ahmed, Amad Butt, Bismillah Khan, David Miller (partially available), Fabian Allen (partially available), Fidel Edwards (partially available), Haider Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Akmal, Mohammad Amir Khan, Mohammad Irfan Snr, Mohammad Imran, Mohammad Imran Randhawa, Rovman Powell, Waqar Salamkheil, Sherfane Rutherford, Shoaib Malik, and Umaid Asif

Following are the probable fixtures of PSL 2021:

1st June

Lahore Qalandars v Islamabad United (N) – 8.30 pm IST

2nd June

Multan Sultans v Karachi Kings (N) – 8.30 pm

3rd June

Islamabad United v Quetta Gladiators (N) – 8.30 pm

4th June

Peshawar Zalmi v Lahore Qalandars (N) – 8.30 pm

5th June

Islamabad United v Karachi Kings (D) – 5.30 pm

Multan Sultans v Quetta Gladiators (N) – 10.30 pm

6th June

Peshawar Zalmi v Karachi Kings (N) – 11.30 pm

7th June

Quetta Gladiators v Lahore Qalandars (N) – 8.30 pm

8th June

Multan Sultans v Peshawar Zalmi (N) – 8.30 pm

9th June

Islamabad United v Lahore Qalandars (N) – 8.30 pm

10th June

Quetta Gladiators v Karachi Kings (N) – 8.30 pm

11th June

Multan Sultans v Islamabad United (N) – 8.30 pm

12th June

Quetta Gladiators v Peshawar Zalmi (D)- 5.30 pm

13th June

Karachi Kings v Lahore Qalandars (N)- 1.30 am

Islamabad United v Peshawar Zalmi (N) – 8.30 pm

14th June

Multan Sultans v Lahore Qalandars (N) – 8.30 pm

16th June

Qualifier (1 v 2) (N) – 8.30 pm

17th June

Eliminator 1 (3 v 4) (N) – 8.30 pm

18th June

Eliminator 2 (loser Qualifier v winner Eliminator 1) (N) – 8.30 pm

20th June

Final (N) – 8.30 pm

Following is the current points table of PSL 2021:

Here’s how current teams stand in PSL-2021

By Arvind Krishnan

Cricket writer, statistician and analyst. An unorthodox media student, marketing runs in his blood. Sports Marketer and analyst.