IPL 2015 Champions Mumbai Indians

IPL 2015 was the 8th edition of the tournament. The tournament was first played in 2008 and was conducted by the Board of Control for cricket in India. The 2015 edition of IPL was played between 8 April 2015 to 24 May 2015.

The IPL 2015 opening ceremony was held at the Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata. Kolkata Knight Riders were the defending champions of the tournament, clinching the title for the second time defeating Kings XI Punjab. The tagline given by the official broadcasters Sony Max was “India ka tyohar”.

Read IPL 2014 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Kolkata Knight Riders Winner of Indian Premier League 2014

IPL 2015 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs

IPL 2015 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs David Warner

The explosive Australian opening batter, David Warner won the orange cap for the 2015 season of the Indian Premier League playing for the Sunrisers Hyderabad. David Warner scored 562 runs in 14 innings, he played with an overwhelming average of 43.34 and a strike rate of 156.54.

David Warner hit 7 half centuries in the season, where he hit 21 sixes in the IPL 2015. David Warner best score was 91. He was followed by Ajinkya Rahane from Rajasthan Royals and Lendl Simmons from Mumbai Indians. Rahane & Simmons scored 540 runs each in 13 innings.

IPL 2014 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets

IPL 2014 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets Dwayne Bravo

Once again the West Indies legend, Dwayne Bravo won the Purple Cap for the 8th season of the IPL. He picked up 26 wickets in 16 innings of IPL 2015. Dwayne Bravo bowled with an economy of 8.14 and maintained a strike rate of 12.

Dwayne Bravo’s average was just above 16. Lasith Malinga was second on the chart for picking up most wickets. Dwayne Bravo picked up 24 wickets in 15 games, where he bowled with an economy of 7.40 and  a strike rate of 15.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube

IPL 2015 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament

IPL 2015 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament Andre Russell

The destructive West Indies batter Andre Russell won the Most Valuable Player award for the 8th edition of the Indian Premier League in 2015. He played blistering knocks throughout the tournament that season. The all rounder playing for Kolkata Knight Riders scored 326 runs from 13 matches at a strike rate of 192.29 scoring 35 boundaries and 19 maximums in IPL 2015. He topped the Most Valuable Player rating chart with 312 points, for his explosive knocks. Apart from this, he also picked up 14 wickets and took 6 catches in the season.

IPL 2015 Final

The IPL 2015 was played between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the Eden Gardens on 24th may 2015. It was the third occasion when these two teams met in the finals of the Indian Premier League, previously in 2010 and 2013.

Chennai Super Kings won the toss and elected to field first. While batting first Mumbai Indians put on a mammoth total of 202 for the loss of 5 wickets. Parthiv Patel was run out in the first over of the match. Rohit Sharma and Lendl Simmons built a decent partnership for the second wicket. Rohit Sharma scored 56 runs in just 24 balls before he was dismissed by Dwayne Bravo in the 12th over. Ambati Rayudu and Kieron Pollard took Mumbai Indians to 202. This was the second 200-plus total in an IPL final.

India Women vs Australia Women World Cup 2022 Highlights; Australia comfortably get pass through India to book their tickets into Semi Finals

IPL 2015 Champions Mumbai Indians

Chennai got off to a slow start. Hussey was dismissed by Mitchell McClenaghan for 4. Suresh Raina and Dwayne Smith built a 66-run partnership for the second wicket. Smith was dismissed for 57 in the 12th over by Harbhajan Singh. Chennai lost five wickets in the next five overs. McClenaghan and Lasith Malinga bowled economically and had figures of 3 for 25 and 2 for 25 respectively.

Chennai Super Kings managed to score only 161 runs for 8 wickets and fall short by the margin 41 runs. Rohit Sharma became the man of the match for his crucial knock.

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.