IPL 2014 Champions Kolkata Knight Riders

The seventh edition of the cash rich Indian Premier League started in 2008 by the Board of Control for cricket in India was in 2014. The tournament was played between 16 April 2014 and 1 June 2014. IPL 2014 was played among 8 teams after the withdrawal of Pune Warriors India from the IPL.

The tagline given by the official broadcasters for IPL 2014 by Sony Max was “Bulawa aaya hai”. The tournament was jointly hosted by India and UAE because of the 2014 general assembly elections and Home Ministry refused to provide security, as it was invested in the Elections.

Read IPL 2013 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Mumbai Indians Winner of Indian Premier League 2013

IPL 2014 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs

IPL 2014 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs by Robin Uthappa

Robin Uthappa from Kolkata Knight Riders became the leading run scorer and grabbed the Orange cap in IPL 2014. He scored 660 runs in 16 games in the season and maintained a healthy average of 44. Robin Uthappa hit 5 half centuries and an unbeaten 83 remained his best performance.

Robin Uthappa was followed by Dwayne Smith from Chennai Super Kings and Glenn Maxwell from Kings XI Punjab. Smith and Maxwell both scored 566 and 552 runs respectively in 16 innings in IPL 2014.

IPL 2014 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets

IPL 2014 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets by Mohit Sharma

The right arm medium pacer Mohit Sharma became the spearhead of the Chennai Super Kings bowling line-up. Mohit Sharma picked up 23 wickets in 16 games and finished as leading wicket taker of the season and won the Purple cap in IPL 2014. He registered his figures – 4/14. Sunil Narine stood second on the list, he made 21 scalps in 16 innings. Bhuvneshwar Kumar remained on 3rd number picking 20 wickets in 14 games during IPL 2014.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube

IPL 2014 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament

IPL 2014 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament was Glenn Maxwell

Glenn Maxwell, the Australian all rounder became the Most Valuable Player of the 2013 season of the Indian Premier League. Kings XI Punjab or now Punjab Kings purchased Glenn Maxwell for whooping 6 crore in the IPL 2014 auctions and he did not let them down.

Glenn Maxwell scored 552 runs in the season and played with a massive strike rate of 187.75. He hit 36 sixes in the season, most by any player in that season. He hit 4 half centuries, 95 was his best performance in the tournament. Glenn Maxwell also took 9 catches, to run past Dwayne Smith in the Most Valuable Player ratings by just half a point.

Read IPL 2011 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Chennai Super Kings Winner of Indian Premier League 2011

IPL 2014 Final

The final of the 2014 edition of the Indian Premier League was played between Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders at the M Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on June 1, 2014. Winning the toss KKR’s Captain Gautam Gambhir decided to field first. Kings XI Punjab scored 199 runs for the loss of 4 wickets in the 20 overs.

Wriddhiman Saha and Manan Vohra stitched a 129-run partnership for the 2nd wicket. Wriddhiman Saha scored a century in 49 balls, finishing on 115 in 55 deliveries. Saha became the first man to score a century in the IPL final.

IPL 2014 Champions Kolkata Knight Riders

KKR lost the Orange Cap holder Robin Uthappa early but Gautam Gambhir and Manish Pandey put on a Valuable 53 run stand for the 2nd wicket. Manish Pandey scored a match winning 94 runs in 50 balls including 6 sixes. Yusuf Pathan also gave a valuble contribution of 36.

Knight Riders chased the target with 3 balls to spear and with three wickets in hand. KKR clinched their second IPL title. Manish Pandey was adjusted the man of the match for his brilliant 94.

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.