IPL 2013 Champions Mumbai Indians

IPL 2013 was the Sixth edition of the tournament started in 2008 by the Board of Control for cricket in India. The Indian Premier League Sixth Edition was played between April 3 and 26 May 2013. The opening ceremony of the tournament was held at Salt Lake Stadium in Kolkata on 2nd April 2013. The tagline given by the official broadcaster Sony Max was “sirf dekhna ka nayi – Dil Dhampak Dhampak – Gilli Gili eh!” 

Read IPL 2012 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Kolkata Knight Riders Winner of Indian Premier League 2012

IPL 2013 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs

IPL 2013 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs by Michael Hussey

Mr. Cricket, Michael Hussey became the highest run getter and won the orange cap for the 2013 season of the Indian Premier League. Michael Hussey scored 733 runs in 17 games, while playing for Chennai Super Kings in IPL 2013. He scored 6 half centuries in the season, and played with an average of 52.35 and with healthy strike rate of 129.

Michael Hussey was followed by two Royal Challengers Bangalore’s batters Chris Gayle and Virat Kohli. Gayle and Kohli scored 708 and 634 runs respectively in 16 innings played in IPL 2013. Chris Gayle smashed a mammoth hundred against the Pune Warriors India, scoring an unbeaten 175 in that game. He also smashed a record 51 sixes in the tournament.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube

IPL 2013 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets

IPL 2013 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets by Dwayne Bravo

Dwayne Johnson Bravo, became the purple cap holder for picking up the highest number of wickets in the 2013 season of the IPL. DJ Bravo picked up 32 wickets in 18 games, bowled with an economy of 7.95 and a strike rate of 11.71. His best bowling figure was 4 for 42 in the IPL 2013.

Dwayne Bravo became the highest wicket taker in a single season of IPL. He broke the record of Lasith Malinga (28 wickets). He was followed by James Faulkner from Rajasthan Royals and Harbhajan Singh from Mumbai Indians. James Faulkner picked up 25 wickets in 16 games while Harbhajan Singh made 24 scalps in 19 matches.

IPL 2013 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament

IPL 2013 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament Shane Watson

After dominating the inaugural season of the Indian Premier League, Shane Watson’s performances in the tournament reached new heights during the sixth edition of the league. Shane Watson scored 543 runs in 16 games, with an  average of 38 and a strike rate of 142. He played at the top order for the Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2013.

Shane Watson’s season best 101 came against Chennai Super Kings in the group stages of the tournament. Shane Watson also picked up 13 wickets in 16 games at an average of 22.92 in 2013. For his terrific all round performance, he was awarded with the Most Valuable Player award of the 2013 season of the IPL.

Read IPL 2008 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Rajasthan Royals Winner of Indian Premier League 2008

IPL 2013 Final

The finals of the 2013 season of the IPL was played between Mumbai Indians and the runner up of the previous edition Chennai Super Kings at the iconic Eden Gardens in Kolkata on 26 May 2013. Chennai Super Kings were playing their 5th final and that was the last game of Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar as an IPL cricketer.

Mumbai Indians captain Rohit Sharma won the toss and elected to bat first. Mumbai Indians lost their top three wickets inside the first four overs for 16 runs. Dinesh Kartik and Ambati Rayudu tried to stitch a partnership, and Karthik a little later was dismissed for 21 . Then came iron Pollard and scored a 32-balls 60. Ambati Rayudu scored 37 crucial runs for the Mumbai Indians to reach a respectable total. Mumbai Indians scored 148 runs for the loss of 9 wickets in 20 overs. Dwayne Bravo riding on his form picked up 4 wickets in the finals of IPL 2013.

IPL 2013 Champions Mumbai Indians

In response, Chennai lost Michael Hussey and Suresh Raina too early in the first over. S Badrinath was also dismissed in the very next over and the team score was 3 for 3. Chennai Super Kings kept losing wickets at regular intervals and they were reduced to 39 for 6 at the end of eighth over. Chennai’s innings finally improved in the ninth-wicket partnership between MS Dhoni and Ravi Ashwin. MS Dhoni scored an unbeaten 63 runs.

Mumbai Indians won the match by 23 runs. Kieron Pollard was adjusted the man of the match.

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.