IPL 2012 Champions Kolkata Knight Riders

IPL 2012 was the 5th edition of the tournament started by BCCI in 2008. The fifth edition of the tournament commenced on 4th April and ended on 27th may 2012. In this particular season the number of teams were reduced from 10 to 9 due to elimination of Kochi taskers Kerala. The tagline given by the official broadcaster Sony Max for IPL 2012 was Aisa mauka aur kaha milega?” Kolkata Knight Riders clinched their maiden title after defeating the defending Champions Chennai Super Kings.

Read IPL 2011 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Chennai Super Kings Winner of Indian Premier League 2011

IPL 2012 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs

Once again, the destructive West Indies opener Chris Gayle became the leading run getter of the tournament. He once again owed the orange cap of the season, after one year. He scored 733 runs in just 14 games. Chris Gayle averaged more than 61 in the tournament and played with the strike rate of 160. Chris Gayle scored 7 half centuries and a century, he hit 59 sixes in the tournament. His highest score was unbeaten 128. He was followed by Gautam Gambhir ,scoring 590 runs in 17 matches with 6 half centuries in IPL 2012.

IPL 2012 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets

Morne Morkel, the South Africa medium pacer led the Delhi Daredevils bowling line up and picked most wickets in the fifth edition of the tournament. He made 25 scalps in 16 innings. Morne Morkel bowled with an economy of 7.19 and an average of 18.12. His best bowling figure was 4 wickets for 20 runs.

Morne Morkel was followed by Sunil Narine from Kolkata Knight Riders and Lasith Malinga from Mumbai Indians. Sunil Narine, and Lasith Malinga picked up 24 and 22 wickets respectively. Sunil Narine took a five wicket haul in the season.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube

IPL 2012 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament

IPL 2012 Most Valuable Player Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine proved to be an surprise element for the Kolkata Knight Riders franchise. He picked up 24 wickets in 15 games and finished the tournament as the second highest wicket taker in the season. Sunil Narine picked a five wicket haul against Kings XI Punjab and dismissed the likes of Shawn Marsh and Adam Gilchrist. His best bowling figure was 5/19 . Sunil Narine became the most valuable player of the tournament due to his all rounder performance in the entire season. He took his team to the finals of the IPL 2012.

Mandeep Singh won the emerging player award while Rajasthan Royals clinched the Fair Play Award of the season.

IPL 2011 Final

The finals of the IPL 2012 was played between defending Champions Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai. Once again CSK captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss and elected to bat first. Chennai posted a huge total of 190 for the loss of 3 wickets in their 20 overs. Murali Vijay and Michael Hussey put on 87-run opening partnership. Vijay scored 42 while Hussey added 54 before getting dismissed. Suresh Raina scored a 38-ball 73 in the IPL 2012 Final.

Complete list of IPL Sponsors for each franchise

IPL 2012 Champions Kolkata Knight Riders

In reply, KKR lost their captain, Gautam Gambhir for 2. Manvinder Bisla and Jacques Kallis built the partnership for the second wicket. Manvinder Bisla scored 89 in 48 balls while Jacques Kallis added 69 off 49 balls. After this partnership, KKR lost wickets at regular intervals.

Needing 9 runs to win from the last over, Manoj Tiwary hit consecutive fours to secure victory for the Knight Riders. Manvinder Bisla was adjusted the Man of the Match for his blistering and match winning knock in the IPL 2012 Final.

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.