IPL 2011 Champion - Chennai Super Kings

IPL 2011 was the 4th edition of the tournament, and was hosted in India. The opening and the closing ceremonies for this edition were held at MA Chidambaram Cricket Stadium in Chennai. The tournament was played between 8 April and 24 May, 2011. The tournament featured the inclusion of two new teams – Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala.

The tagline by the official broadcaster Sony Max for IPL 2011 was- ‘Dam Laga ke Mara re’. The tournament was once again won the defending Champions, Chennai Super Kings defeating Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Read IPL 2010 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Chennai Super Kings Winner of Indian Premier League 2010

IPL 2011 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs

The big man from West Indies, Chris Gayle became the highest run scorer of the season. Chris Gayle won the orange cap in the 2011 season of the IPL. He scored 608 runs in just 12 innings for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Chris Gayle averaged more than 67 in IPL 2011. Gayle played with a strike rate of 183. He scored 2 centuries and three half centuries. Chris Gayle hit 44 sixes in that season. He was followed by his Bangalore teammate Virat Kohli, who scored a total of 557 runs in 16 games in IPL 2011.

IPL 2011 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets

Lasith Malinga loses his purple hat at IPL 2011 | Photo | Indian Premier League |  ESPNcricinfo.com
Lasith Malinga loses his purple hat at IPL 2011, while running on field.

Lasith Malinga from Mumbai Indians set the record for the most wickets in an IPL season. He picked up 28 wickets in 16 games he played that season. Lasith Malinga bowled with an economy of less than 6, i.e. 5.95 and with a strike rate of 13.5. He took a 5 wicket haul in IPL 2011.

Lasith Malinga was followed by his Mumbai Indians teammate Munaf Patel. Munaf Patel made 22 scalps in 15 matches. He bowled with an economy of 6.58 and strike of 14.8 .Munaf Patel also picked a fifer in that particular season.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube

IPL 2011 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament

Chris Gayle, probably the most destructive batsman in the shortest format of the game, became the most valuable player of the tournament in IPL 2011. He came to the tournament as a replacement of Dirk Nannes. Dirk Nannes suffered an injury just before the IPL and he was picked in the IPL 2011 Auction by Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Chris Gayle announced his arrival with a century against Kolkata Knight Riders, his previous side in the IPL. He scored the highest runs in the season, 608 in just 12 innings. He took his team to the finals of the tournament in 2011. He also picked 8 wickets in the 2011 edition of the IPL

IPL 2011 Final

The final of the 2011 season of the IPL was played between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai.

IPL 2011 Champion - Chennai Super Kings

After winning the toss CSK captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni elected to bat first. Chennai scored 205 runs for the loss of 5 wickets in their 20 overs. Murali Vijay remained the top scorer for the side, scoring 95 runs. Mike Hussey scored 65 runs in just 43 balls. Chris Gayle picked two wickets for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

In response, RCB lost their best player, Chris Gayle, for duck and continued to lose wickets at regular intervals. RCB finished on 147 for the loss of 8 wickets. Saurabh Tiwari scored an unbeaten 42, which went in vain for RCB. Ravi Ashwin picked 3 wickets for Chennai Super Kings to retain the title. Murli Vijay was adjusted the man of the match for his knock of 95.

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.