IPL 2009 Champion - Deccan Chargers

IPL 2009 was the second edition of the tournament conducted by the Board of Control for Cricket in India. The tournament was played in South Africa due to General Assembly Elections 2009 in India. The tournament commenced on 18th April 2009 and the final of the league was played on 24th May 2009.

IPL 2009 was the biggest of tournaments in the world after the ICC Cricket World Cup, it was estimated that more than 200 million people in India alone watched the season on television. The tagline for the season by the official broadcaster Sony Max was ‘Divided by nations, United by IPL’. The league set record for television viewership. The IPL 2009 was won by Deccan Chargers, who beat the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the final.

Read IPL 2008 Story – Orange Cap, Purple Cap, Player of the Tournament, Rajasthan Royals Winner of Indian Premier League 2008

IPL 2009 Orange Cap Holder – Most Runs

PORT ELIZABETH, SOUTH AFRICA - APRIL 20: Matthew Hayden of Chennai hits out during IPL 2009 T20 match between Chennai Super Kings and Royal Challengers Bangalore at St Georges Cricket Ground on April 20, 2009 in Port Elizabeth, South Africa. (Photo by Tom Shaw/Getty Images)

The former Australian opener batter, Mathew Hayden became the orange cap holder in the 2009 season of the IPL. He scored 582 runs in 12 games with an exceptional average of 52. Mathew Hayden also played with an impressive strike rate of 144. He scored 6 half centuries and 89 remained his best score in IPL 2009.

Hayden was followed by Adam Gilchrist, the skipper of the Deccan Chargers and AB de Villiers from Delhi Daredevils. Gilchrist and De Villiers scored 495 and 465 runs each in the 2009 edition of IPL. Adam Gilchrist played 16 games in  the tournament while AB de Villiers played 13 games.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube

IPL 2009 Purple Cap Holder – Most Wickets

From IPL archives: Highest wicket taker for each team in IPL 2009 - Indian cricketer RP Singh of Deccans Chargers celebrates with teammates after winning the IPL Twenty20 final match at The Wanderers Cricket Stadium in Johannesburg on May 24, 2009. Deccan Chargers beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by six runs to win the 2009 IPL Twenty20. GETTY OUT -AFP PHOTO/ SAEED KHAN

The former Indian left-arm medium pacer, RP Singh took the most wickets in the tournament and won the purple Cap for the IPL 2009 season. He licked up 23 wickets in 16 games. He bowled with an economy of 6.98 and a strike rate of 15.5. He was followed by his national side teammates Anil Kumble and Ashish Nehra. They picked up 21 and 19 wickets respectively.

IPL 2009 Most Valuable Player – Player Of Tournament 

Gilchrist blasts Deccan into IPL final | Reuters

Adam Gilchrist was the skipper of the Deccan Chargers team  in the 2009 Indian Premier League. Adam Gilchrist scored 495 runs in 16 matches at an average of 30 and a strike rate of around 152. His best knock in the season of 85  from just  35 balls came against Delhi Daredevils (Delhi Capitals now) in the semi-final at Centurion.

Adam Gilchrist played a major role as a captain and a batter in Deccan Charger’s winning the IPL 2009 title. He was  awarded the Most Valuable Player award in the second season of the tournament.

How can the Indian Women’s Cricket team qualify for Women’s ODI World Cup knockouts?

The fair play award was won by Kings XI Punjab and the award for the emerging player was won by Rohit Sharma.

IPL 2009 Final

IPL 2009 Champion - Deccan Chargers

The final of the 2009 Indian Premier League was played between Deccan chargers and Royal Challengers Bangalore at the new Wanderers stadium in Johannesburg. After winning the toss Bangalore captain Anil Kumble elected to field first. Deccan chargers scored 143 runs for the loss of 6 wickets in their allotted 20 overs.

Herschelle Gibbs was the top scorer for the team, scoring 53 runs. Anil Kumble picked up 4 wickets and just conceded 16 runs. In response, Royal Challengers Bangalore managed to score just 137 runs for the loss of 9 wickets. They required 15 runs in the final over bowled by RP Singh. They only made 8 runs in that over, Deccan Chargers won the final by 6 runs. Anil Kumble was named as the player of the match.

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.