The Indian team is high on confidence after a fantastic series win at home against West Indies. India is looking to try some new faces , while giving rest to Virat Kohli and Rishabh Pant. Sanju Samson has been named as the second wicket keeping option. He will be tested alongside with explosive Ishan Kishan.

Ravindra Jadeja is fit and is available for the series, Jasprit Bumrah has also been included. No place for Mohammad Shami in the team. India will also look to strengthen their pace bowling . Mohammad Siraj and Avesh Khan will have a hugh role to play in the absence of Deepak Chahar and Shardul Thakur.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube
Team India hit the ground running as they gear up for the T20 Series against Sri Lanka
Team India hit the ground running as they gear up for the T20 Series against Sri Lanka.

Sri Lanka  lost the  T20 series against Australia s but won the last match of the series and will come to India with some  confidence. The batting didn’t work well but Pathum Nissanka was the highest run-getter against Australia and will be the key player for them in this series as well. Wanindu Hasaranga will be back in action . He has not included in the squad against Australia as he was found Covid positive.

Sri Lanka tour of India, 2022

Sr. No.

Day Date Match Venue
1 Thursday 24th February 1st T20I



Saturday 26th February 2nd T20I Dharamsala


Sunday 27th February 3rd T20I


India is on a six-match T20Is winning streak and will start as favorites to win the series.

IND v SL: Head-to-Head:

  • India – 14
  • Sri Lanka – 7
  • No Result – 1
Sri Lanka Deepak Chahar ODI photos and editorial news pictures from ESPNcricinfo  Images
Deepak Chahar has been ruled out of the series due to injury which he suffered in the last game against West Indies in Kolkata.
Deepak Chahar got ruled out of upcoming T20I against Sri Lanka

 Probable Playing XI:

  • India – Rohit Sharma, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shreyas Iyer, Sanju Samson/Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Venkatesh Iyer, Ravindra Jadeja, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj/Avesh Khan, Ravi Bishnoi
  • Sri Lanka – Kamil Mishara, Pathum Nissanka, Charith Asalanka, Kusal Mendis (wk), Janith Liyanage, Dasun Shanaka (c), Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Wanindu Hasaranga, Maheesh Theekshana, Lahiru Kumara

India vs Sri Lanka T20I Squads

India’s T20I squad: Rohit Sharma (c)Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan (wk, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Hooda, Bumrah (vc), Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Harshal Patel, Md. Siraj, Sanju Samson (wk), Ravindra Jadeja, Y Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Kuldeep Yadav, Avesh Khan.

Sri Lanka’s T20 Squad: Dasun Shanaka (Captain), Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka (Vice-Captain), Dinesh Chandimal, Danushka Gunathilaka, Kamil Mishara, Janith Liyanage, Wanindu Hasaranga, Chamika Karunaratne, Dushmantha Chameera, Lahiru Kumara, Binura Fernando, Shiran Fernando, Maheesh Theekshana, Jeffrey Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrama and Ashian Daniel (Subjected to Ministerial approval).

By Shivanshu Chauhan

A Professional Cricketer for past 4 Years for the teams of Lucknow and CISCE. He keeps an eye on all the Cricket insights which sometimes professional journos lack. He Keeps the wicket on the 22 Yards and takes care of the board meetings over here. No Official Statements go off from the website because of him. He keeps you updated by breaking News both in English and Hindi.