Eight of the cricket’s best teams from the new emerging cricketing nations will compete in Oman for the remaining two spots at the ‘A’ Qualifier for the 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Which teams will grab those two spots will be decided by the week-long tournament, and teams have very little time to adapt to the new, unrelenting format.

Subsribe To Our Official YouTube

Previously it was played out as a 14-team Global Qualifier, but now the race for the final T20 World Cup places is played out through 2 separate competitions comprising of 8 teams, with the first beginning on February 18.

The eight teams in each qualifier are divided into 2 groups of 4, the top two teams after the single round-robin group stage will go on and fix their spots into the semi-finals. The top teams after group stage play will take on the second-place finisher in the opposite group, and the winners of the semi-final will book their ticket for the ICC 2022 T20 World Cup in Australia.

The teams will play in the final to finalize which First Round group they will enter, with the other teams at the competition playing off for the minor places.

This year’s 16-team field is arguably stronger than that of the previous cycle, as Nepal made a return after a stumble in the Asia qualifier last time out, and UAE is in a rich vein of form. Both sides feature in the first qualifier, and Zimbabwe too returns after their suspension during the last cycle, which was drawn in the second qualifier in July.

By Abhishek Pandey

Non-Aspiring future engineer having many aspirations in life. A lover of cricket and football, an admirer of the GOATs in both games. Solving the jigsaw puzzles of life in my own way to find the treasure of peace. There is only one quote that keeps me going- 'There is no way for being happy, being happy is the only way.'